Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
04-04-2005, 01:47 AM | #1 | ||
well its about 1:20am and I just got back from Sunny's joint where Dan, Sunny, myself and Rips (tigerEL) put in a mammoth effort to get his engine installed, BBM conversion, turbo conversion and running in just one day. I reckon it's the biggest job we've pulled off yet. I used to get excited when we could finish a headgasket in a day.....now it's whole engine and turbo conversions lol.
Here's some pics: Here's the engine shortly after we installed the new BBM that we got at Just Falcons for fiddy bux. Here's the bastard goin in. And the end result with turbo on and everything. Just need to sort out some heat sheilding for the wiring behind the turbo. Took it for a REALLY short spin cause the neighbours don't appreciate open exhaust turbo EA's rippin skids in the court at 12am in the morning. It all works tho!! ;) Now fvk this i've had enuf, goin to bed! |
04-04-2005, 02:55 AM | #2 | ||
Smash the Boost
Nice effort lads, that engine bay is awesome
and because its almost 3am, im going to be picky lol That turbo looks hell small....what is it? How many psi are going to be fed non intercooled? the ribs and 4.0L on the rocker cover should be silver Sunny needs a clean coolant tank Other than that, impressive
2023 Hyundai Palisade 1971 Fairmont Sedan 1974 SWB F100 Keyboard Warrior - A Person who, being unable to express his anger through physical violence (owning to their physical weakness, lack of bravery and/or conviction in real life), instead manifests said emotions through the text-based medium of the internet, usually in the form of aggressive writing that the Keyboard Warrior would not (for reasons previously mentioned) be able to give form to in real life.
04-04-2005, 06:45 AM | #3 | ||
~~~
awesome stuff. is that the 2nd time the engines been out? and 3rd trans?
good ole eseries spirit gets a lot done sometimes. |
04-04-2005, 07:51 AM | #4 | |||
Bloody hell that's an awesome effort! Well done guys! Sunny, you better be coming to the meet tonight. I want to check this shit out and you can take us for a spin :hihi:
04-04-2005, 07:56 AM | #5 | ||
Well done guys.
That's a great effort!
1992 DC LTDHO 360rwkw built by me Tuned by CVE Performance Going of the rails on a crazy train Other cars include Dynamic ED Sprint, Dynamic DL LTD, Sparkling Burgundy DL LTD, Yellow, Red & Blue XB sedan & Black XB Coupe
04-04-2005, 08:07 AM | #6 | ||
Good stuff guys.
Get the engine lookin' smicko before it all goes back together though! be one hell of a sweet engine bay soon
04-04-2005, 09:13 AM | #7 | ||
Hey Sunny, well done all in and running even if took alot of time, sorry I couldnt make it, damn landlords giving 60 days notice, means packing and looking for a place to live.
04-04-2005, 09:23 AM | #8 | ||
It was pretty fun driving round at 12 am with no exhaust. It sounded pretty sweet.
The engine bay looks heaps better in the flesh, all the paint is very shiny, cant tell in the pics though. My engine ****ed up on the way home and now my car wont boost and barely drives. Damn E series mod day/cruise curse! ing_sm :
04-04-2005, 09:50 AM | #9 | ||
man thats awesome!....grr all these turbos gets me itchy for some more power...this site is a bad influence..lol
Good work fellas...
04-04-2005, 10:55 AM | #10 | ||
Firstly, thanks to Dellboy, Doug, Dan, Tiga_EL (Rips) and NeedFordSpeed for their help and anyone else, you know who you are! lol.
Now, the engine's got some issues atm but nothing serious. I reckon it's running on 5 cylinders and the timing's way out because of how it was driving last night. It was refusing to start for a bit but it turned out to be the fuel level. We (Doug :P) thought it was timing so kept advancing it (I think). So the car's all noise and no go. Secondly, there's no allowance for twin TPS's on the EL throttle body. An EA won't fit because the throttle setup is completely different. What have others done to over come this? Steve? Can you just splice both TPS looms in to one or will that **** it up? Thirdly, it's not boosting for some unknown reason. It's probably something minor but my carefactor is low atm. I'll pull it out and put the stocko manifold in for now, as much as I don't want to so I can organise getting it re-built and a intercooler. You can hear the turbo spooling or whatever but the boost doesn't come on. It could hav something to do with the 5 cylinder and timing thing eh? Anyways yeah that's it! Sundeep |
04-04-2005, 10:58 AM | #11 | |||
Good onya fellas, Thats what real mates are about...
Mind you did Sunny provide the food & drinks all day?? :P
04-04-2005, 11:00 AM | #12 | |||
What are ya using to control off boost, wastegate or b.o.v?
04-04-2005, 11:07 AM | #13 | ||
There's a wastegate but I know jack shit. Ask Dan!
Yeah I provided tea or whatever you aussies call it. But Dan didn't eat. Has anyone ever seen Dan eat? First time I saw him eat was like yesterday but even then I didn't actually see him chew anything....you threw the sub out the window didn't you! Sundeep |
04-04-2005, 11:10 AM | #14 | |||
Wastegate might not be set right, If it was a manifold leak, you'd definately hear it puffing past the gasket when floored.
G/Luck with it mate..
04-04-2005, 11:11 AM | #15 | ||
bwahahhaa
nah i don't recall seeing Dan eat ever. all his money goes into his car, no money for food
04-04-2005, 11:11 AM | #16 | |||
Looks like a top effort guys. What fuel system are you running? Rising reg for the turbo? |
04-04-2005, 11:17 AM | #17 | ||
Bah I eat plenty! It has a wastegate with apparantly a 6 pound spring.
It was too hard to hear anything with the exhuast dumping from the dump pipe. Im thinking maybe the timing is too far off to get decent boost is that possible? Cant timing be retarded enough to get boost with no load? Surely going the other way might effect it too? The wastegate hose is attached to the turbo side of the throttle body. I couldnt hear the wastegate open at all. Would a turbo still boost with dead seals?
04-04-2005, 11:59 AM | #18 | ||
Bloody hell! You guys certainly don't muck around. If only my developments moved that quickly :(
04-04-2005, 12:11 PM | #19 | ||||
youll find it will end up leaking oil & coking the bearings. Did it spin freely b4 you installed it?
04-04-2005, 12:14 PM | #20 | ||
yeah it spun freely, it wasnt scraping or anything, there was no shaft play either. It didnt spin as long or as easily as my turbo but Ive got a roller bearing so it might be hard to compare.
It was blowing a fair bit of smoke from the turbo. Once its rebuilt or he gets a replacement I think there will be an improvement.
Turbo AU ute ~ Nice legs, shame about the face. 282rwkw at 15psi. Last edited by dansedgli; 04-04-2005 at 12:16 PM. |
04-04-2005, 12:34 PM | #21 | ||
Yeah I just went out and washed it again, all I cbf doing today and it's running crap as. I think I'll take the manifold off, bolt on the stocko, get it running A1 and fix the turbo in the week and get some boost happening. It's too hard to tell wtf is happening with all that noise. I have a feeling that theres not enough fuel getting up as it takes a couple of primes to start, and when you try and accelerate it feels like it's dying for a couple of seconds before it picks up, then it feels shit again. When you lift the revs up it chugs (but makes a mad V8 sound) like it's running on 5 cylinders. All of that coupled with bad timing = BAD!
Also, the turbo isn't bolted on to the manifold like really good styles. It's got 2 tight bolts opposite each other and the others we couldn't find a spanner for ****en. So that would have something to do with it as well eh? Once the quieter exhaust is on I'll be able to start it and get timed and idling nicely. ATM it feels like it could just be anything. Sundeep |
04-04-2005, 12:35 PM | #22 | ||
Oh BTW Dan, your 'grouse' transmission's ****ed again lol. The starter inhibitor's not doing it's thing and it won't let the car start in neutral or park. You have to slam around the gears before it starts. Grrrr you bastard!
Sundeep |
04-04-2005, 12:36 PM | #23 | ||
That would be the linkages! Come round tonight and get it, then fix my car! Last time I lend you an engine hook. :
04-04-2005, 12:54 PM | #24 | |||
hahahahahahahahahah.
04-04-2005, 12:54 PM | #25 | ||
Damn that was quick, I knew you were gonna try and get the engine in yesterday, but I didn't think you'd get all that done!
1988 EA S-Pack|MPI|LSD|AIT turbo manifold|Garrett GT3540|3" Exhaust turbo back|Cooler|Sports ryder shocks|Pedders lows|Resprayed|Microtech LT8s|60lb Injectors|Bosch 044 with surge tank|3000 RPM stall|Ported AU head|Turbo grind cam|Crow double valve springs|1.3mm MLS headgasket|C4 Conversion|Built bottom end|Custom plenum|10.6@125MPH |
04-04-2005, 04:10 PM | #26 | |||
Soul baby
04-04-2005, 05:04 PM | #27 | ||
Once shy... twice bitten
Good work guys, what turbo is it? Or did I miss reading it?
04-04-2005, 05:13 PM | #28 | ||
Garrett T04
1988 EA S-Pack|MPI|LSD|AIT turbo manifold|Garrett GT3540|3" Exhaust turbo back|Cooler|Sports ryder shocks|Pedders lows|Resprayed|Microtech LT8s|60lb Injectors|Bosch 044 with surge tank|3000 RPM stall|Ported AU head|Turbo grind cam|Crow double valve springs|1.3mm MLS headgasket|C4 Conversion|Built bottom end|Custom plenum|10.6@125MPH |
04-04-2005, 05:29 PM | #29 | ||
sunny, im pretty sure my wagon had the 2 EA tps wires joined to the 1 EL tps on the throttle......
i cant remember though |
04-04-2005, 05:38 PM | #30 | ||
It's running like a absolute bag of crap. I just got the exhaust welded up so it's quieter now, but I can still hear it leaking like a ****er. I think it's coz the wastegate outlet thing from the exhaust isn't hooked up but I'm not sure. Actually thinking about it I think that might be a reason for not having boost.
It might be running on like 3 cylinders or something. It almost died going up a hill before then it started up again after the hill so it's a fuel delivery problem as well. I'll go fix the timing and check what cylinders aren't running soon, it's too hot atm. I reckon it'll fix up good tonight. Sundeep |