Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
05-04-2005, 10:33 PM | #1 | ||
Low and Loud
Well The First Part of the Climate Control Conversion started...
I have aquired : EA2 Ghia Enginebay loom EA2 Ghia Dash loom All the Climate Control sensors, Climate Module, Heaterbox and EB Lighter Coloured Dash and interior plastics. Big thanks to Dansedgli for all the good stuff (parts), If this all works its cause of you mate :sm_headba :king: Now Before I start fitting all the parts I wanted to ask some questions 1. Will the Climate Control still work without the Coolant Temp Sensor? I dont indend on using it in AUTO mode 2. The ECU Wiring is the same for GL as for Ghia right? Ill update this as I go along
1993 Ford Fairlane NC3 Silver - LTD mockup, Worked V8 & Auto, Fully Optioned, Half of my Audio department at work installed in the car 1993 Ford Falcon XR6 Poly Green Stationwagon - 4.0 I6, Auto, 3:45LSD, All the usual XR6 Stuff but in a wagon : |
05-04-2005, 10:34 PM | #2 | ||
Low and Loud
Ohh and Also, has anyone else tried this before?
1993 Ford Fairlane NC3 Silver - LTD mockup, Worked V8 & Auto, Fully Optioned, Half of my Audio department at work installed in the car 1993 Ford Falcon XR6 Poly Green Stationwagon - 4.0 I6, Auto, 3:45LSD, All the usual XR6 Stuff but in a wagon : |
05-04-2005, 10:42 PM | #3 | ||
climate control is overated IMO. Though it will look better.
Do the climate controls on Falcons tell ya the temp outside ? |
05-04-2005, 11:00 PM | #4 | ||
I believe the temp sensor also tells it to switch between recirc and fresh, though you could set that manually. It should work, probably find some sort of code to throw at you. We'll unplug mine when I'm over and find out.
What's the point of putting it in if you aren't going to use the auto feature? And yeah they tell you the outside temp and no they aren't over rated, you povo pack people are just jealous! |
05-04-2005, 11:05 PM | #5 | ||
Don't thank Dan. You'll be abusing him when it all doesn't work lol. My trans has ****ed up 3 times!
I'm only joking hehe. The trans is the grouse. Good luck with ur project. Sundeep |
05-04-2005, 11:07 PM | #6 | |||
05-04-2005, 11:15 PM | #7 | ||
Oh I would of killed for cruise on the way back from AFD!
I use auto all the time, just whack it on 22 in the mornings and go, it'll come on when it's ready. |
06-04-2005, 12:06 AM | #8 | ||||
Burnin Rubber
06-04-2005, 08:02 AM | #9 | ||
Cruise & power windows = BEST MOD EVER! :P
06-04-2005, 05:28 PM | #10 | ||
I still think it's overated. What benifits, other than showing you the supposed temp in car, does it have.. ?
My Pov pak has Climate control. It's just not digital. |
06-04-2005, 06:40 PM | #11 | ||
I can set the temp and forget about it. No fiddling with knobs, no cold air blowing when the car isn't heated up.
06-04-2005, 07:05 PM | #12 | ||
likes falcon's
u shoulda just bought a fairmont ghia... lol
06-04-2005, 07:26 PM | #13 | ||
climate is great, set at a temp and it keeps the car at that temp....... ingenious.
good luck with the conversion mick |
06-04-2005, 07:34 PM | #14 | ||
likes falcon's
u could save alot of time an effort if u get a ghia/fairlane to start with
06-04-2005, 11:03 PM | #15 | |||
Low and Loud
EFFALCON - Yea it does, And Im intending to fit Cruise control next aswell since with all the ghia wiring there, it just plugs in
07-04-2005, 08:19 AM | #16 | ||
exactly...
if i had an EF Ghia right now... my car wouldn't be as special as it is now :P no one works up a GLi!
07-04-2005, 09:08 AM | #17 | |||
Climate is ok, I usually prefer to put the windows down though
07-04-2005, 12:30 PM | #18 | ||
I was gonna do this conversion over easter... but i threw my back out and i'm still waiting to do it!
I'm hanging out, especially with the cold mornings, cause I have no heater whatsover at the moment. I reckon it's heaps better because i spend half my time adjusting my fan speed and turning the a/c on/off anyways. Plus, it's good to have features in the car that weren't available. ;) Oh, and according to the Ford manual, if the coolant temp sender isn't plugged in, the climate ecu assumes an engine temp of 92 degrees, which means that on cold starts you'll get cold air blowing on you and you won't have the emergency recirc mode if the car gets too hot. Last edited by spope; 07-04-2005 at 12:35 PM. |
07-04-2005, 12:35 PM | #19 | ||
ghia'd up gli's are the best! I have power front windows, non functional rears, no winders or electric motors! ( who uses the back windows anyway!) ghia interior, ghia cluster with non functioning oil pressure and water level switches.
Its awesome.... no really its awesome!
07-04-2005, 12:37 PM | #20 | ||
agreed Dan..
half arsed ghia's are the way to go!
07-04-2005, 12:53 PM | #21 | |||
07-04-2005, 02:59 PM | #22 | |||
Low and Loud
What in the heck is emergency recirc mode? :togo: lol I will postpone fitting it today and get a Coolant Temp Sender for it. My Next question is, as i dont have SLS and never want it, If i simply dont put the SLS relay in and the SLS Fuse, that means the car will still work fine? I think Dellboy mentioned to me once that the trip computer or cluster would allert me that SLS isnt working? I dont want that
07-04-2005, 03:00 PM | #23 | |||
Low and Loud
07-04-2005, 03:30 PM | #24 | ||
My EA Ghia had the SLS fuse pulled out and I never had a problem.
2003 Narooma Blue BA XR6 5spd Manual. Pacemaker 4490 Extractors 2.5" Exhaust High Flow Cat SS Inductions "Growler" CAI Underdrive Pulley Mal Wood H/D Clutch Custom Tune 18" XHP Sabre's 12" Kicker Sub 169.2 rwkw
07-04-2005, 03:36 PM | #25 | ||
Low and Loud
Thanks AUII_Forte
07-04-2005, 03:47 PM | #26 | ||
BF F6, APV SR3900
is power window mod a pain in the ***?
cheers,
07-04-2005, 03:48 PM | #27 | ||
hibernating
woohooo go my gli with fairmont seats, fairmont/spac instrument cluster, trip computer, front footwell courtesy lights... lol!
07-04-2005, 03:57 PM | #28 | ||
Go the GLi! Extra gizmos is just more things to go wrong!
- John P.S. Anyone want the dashboard part of an EA climate setup? |
07-04-2005, 03:57 PM | #29 | ||||
With c/c, it goes one step further, in that if your car gets to hot, it goes into recirc mode and switches the a/c off. It's just as easy to get the sensor... hey, if you are in the chadstone area you can have one of my spares. I have three. Oh, and are you running a Ghia digital cluster or an s-pac cluster? S-pac one won't warn you if the sls isn't working, the ghia one will. Just pull out the globe. |
07-04-2005, 03:58 PM | #30 | ||
Low and Loud
Spope, Im running the Digital Dash cluster as I want something different and I have to Ebay the SVO one