Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
23-10-2006, 04:51 PM | #1 | ||
FirstOnRaceDay
I am looking for a older car as a project...(especially if I get this job I am going for on wednesday)
Any way anyone have any ideas on what car I could find for resonably cheap and a resonable price... I want to use a older car but bring the new school style to it. So if anyone could shine some light, it would be appreciated.
23-10-2006, 04:52 PM | #2 | |||
23-10-2006, 04:53 PM | #3 | ||
How old?
There is a XY wagon in warwick for $5000, absolutely immaculate. I have a zephyr you can buy, 1954 Mk I 6cyl manual, needs paint, brakes, and a set of pistons. cya Ben |
23-10-2006, 04:54 PM | #4 | ||
ORSM FORD CRUSIERS
XR XT falcon. nice paint job slam it and put a au twin turbo engine in it!!
BLUEPOWER RACING DEVELOPMENTS Strive for perfection in everything we do. Take the best that exists and make it better. When it does not exist, design it. Accept nothing nearly right or good enough. -[BLKPHN] (VIC) PLATES FOR SALE $495.00-
23-10-2006, 04:54 PM | #5 | |||
ORSM FORD CRUSIERS
lets not forget the cat back exhaust!!
BLUEPOWER RACING DEVELOPMENTS Strive for perfection in everything we do. Take the best that exists and make it better. When it does not exist, design it. Accept nothing nearly right or good enough. -[BLKPHN] (VIC) PLATES FOR SALE $495.00-
23-10-2006, 04:54 PM | #6 | ||
XFs are older. Pretty cheap too.
23-10-2006, 04:56 PM | #7 | |||
twin turbo V8 |
23-10-2006, 04:58 PM | #8 | ||
FirstOnRaceDay
Yeah I love XF's ever since I was A kid and my mum had one...
Doesnt need rego either... And from 1965 and up..
23-10-2006, 04:59 PM | #9 | |||
23-10-2006, 05:01 PM | #10 | ||
Turbo Dinosaur FTMFW
theres a twin turbo xf in adelaide for sale, cheap. has Vic reg on it. do a search on www.tradingpost.com.au
23-10-2006, 05:03 PM | #11 | ||
FirstOnRaceDay
I was going to by a XF monty ghia... for $1000 and had only done 40,000km's on the new engine... but that was 6months ago...
But yeah I think I will if not XF maybe XC falcon 500 4door
23-10-2006, 05:04 PM | #12 | |||
FirstOnRaceDay
That sounds great but I don't want to buy some one else's project... I would prefer to start from scratch even if it ends up costing more....
23-10-2006, 05:05 PM | #13 | ||
XF and XC would be ideal choices.
23-10-2006, 05:08 PM | #14 | ||
I reckon an XE would be better, its easier to legally get a V8 in them, and with the right ride height, something about those indictors screams tough...
XE + Injected 351 - Ride Height = : A blower wouldnt go astray either (I would say a turbo, but they are more of a sleeper thing, and a good blown V8 hasnt been seen for many a year). *edit - left out a word or three* |
23-10-2006, 05:12 PM | #15 | ||
FirstOnRaceDay
My mate has a XE so I don't want to copy him. I can get my hands on a 5L EB V8 motor
23-10-2006, 05:17 PM | #16 | ||
well buy my zephyr then... if you dont, its getting attacked by a few throttle bodies, EFI, and a dozen or so psi. Which are horrible things for cars to be subject too...
23-10-2006, 05:22 PM | #17 | ||
You can buy my XM ute if you want. The only problem is that im in SA!!
23-10-2006, 05:24 PM | #18 | ||
Oops, I slipped....
Hillman Hunter or VW Kombi European
1995 EF Fairmont 5.0 Heritage Green - BTR with TCI 2500 stall - Ported E7's - Pacemaker Tri-Y's - 3" Mandrel-bent Lukey Exhaust 1984 XE S-Pack 250 Sno White - LPG - Single Rail - 2.5" Exhaust "Just because you don't understand something, does not make it wrong" |
23-10-2006, 05:48 PM | #19 | ||
an XD ESP? if you can find a run down one and do that up, or even an XE ESP your laughing. Or a cortina with a small v8 in it.......... it:
23-10-2006, 07:39 PM | #20 | ||
EB 5.0? Get an old Corty to shoehorn it into
23-10-2006, 10:26 PM | #21 | ||
Aspiring mr efxr
i would personally try to get a XC four door OR wagon, 19" wheels, dropped on its guts, shockwave blue (off BA) and try to slot the biggest of wot would fit of EL, AU, or BA XR8 engines (hopfully barra) put a 6 speed on it, port & polish, heavy duty valve springs, HUGE cam, extractors, 3" zorst, 31 spline axles, LSD or Lokka, 2 x 15" subs n very dark tint! that would be my dream...
EF Wagon Project: Standard = 99.6rwkw <!> 2.5" SuperCat cat back exhaust, Wade 1636 cam, K&N boxed pod (new dyno required Sony headunit, splits, 6.5"s and 2 x 12" with response precision amp = 135.5 dB Daily = Ae82 '85 corolla Fwd :togo: , 5 speed, 12" sub, 6x9's, green LED's the course i am studying: http://www.wodonga.tafe.edu.au/01_courses/course.jsp?id=AUR30905NANA |
23-10-2006, 10:33 PM | #22 | |||
your >$50k dream!
23-10-2006, 10:38 PM | #23 | |||
Aspiring mr efxr
EF Wagon Project: Standard = 99.6rwkw <!> 2.5" SuperCat cat back exhaust, Wade 1636 cam, K&N boxed pod (new dyno required Sony headunit, splits, 6.5"s and 2 x 12" with response precision amp = 135.5 dB Daily = Ae82 '85 corolla Fwd :togo: , 5 speed, 12" sub, 6x9's, green LED's the course i am studying: http://www.wodonga.tafe.edu.au/01_courses/course.jsp?id=AUR30905NANA |
24-10-2006, 12:56 AM | #24 | ||
Buy my XD!!! 351, C4, LSD, unfinished project, Ghia interior...etc....$1000
EF XR8 - Koni's - Cam and Headwork -3.9s - Ex VIC TMU - 1982 Nissan Patrol - 460 ci Big Block soon - Semi Gloss Black - Dark Tint - 4x 6" Infinity Kappa Perfect Splits - 5" Kappa 2 ways - Kappa 6x9's - 2x12" Kappa perfect subs - 2x4 Channel and 2x Mono Kappa amps- |
24-10-2006, 09:24 AM | #25 | ||
FirstOnRaceDay
hell yeah... They all sound nice exept for the one that was not ford related...
Well if I get this job I will consider all... We just have to hope for the best at the moment...