You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 14-11-2006, 04:51 PM   #1
Sapper
Back to the AU

Default Advice on Computer Steering Wheel

Well, my old Thrustmaster steering wheel has finally died at the hands of a 620hp Lamborghini Murcielago R-GT. Which means i now have to go about procuring another wheel to feed my V12 addiction. The thing is, I can't seem to be able to look past the new Logitech G25, and (unfortunately) its $500 pricetag. I can get the old Momo Logitech wheel for about $140 but it doesn't have the leather wheel, stainless body, 6 speed H-gate shifter, clutch pedal and twin force feedback motors.

My question is, is it worth the $500 (for people who already have it)? If not, what is worth getting? I don't want some cruddy peice of junk because a quality game like GTR2 demands a quality wheel.

Old 14-11-2006, 04:54 PM   #2
Stealth00

Default Logitech

Logitech Momo wheel is the best no question. I have had mine for 3 years and still going strong. Although logitech have released a new one with a clutch.

But logitech all the way for me.
Stealth00 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-11-2006, 06:00 PM   #3

yeah....spend the money

Im looking for decent wheel for my xbox 360....unfortunately they offer nothing with over 240 degrees of rotation

the wheel made for GT4 had 900 degrees.....thats what you want

but the 6 speed gated clutch wheel would be the best
Old 14-11-2006, 06:36 PM   #4
Matthew
AU2 (Oo===oO) XR6

I say get the logitech driving force pro (dfp) i just got 1 off ebay for $150 new and iam very happy with it its strong, feels good leather, 900 degree rotation, tip tronic shifter, good ffb and has all the buttons for p2s which comes in handy when driving the g25 doesnt have that also it works for pc and ps2. The only thing the g25 has over the dfp is the H-shifter but you can always buy a custom shifter for the dfp.
Old 14-11-2006, 07:05 PM   #5
jzab
Generally missunderstood

Default Logitech DF pro at EB Games

There are 2 'EB Games' shops in Geelong and both of them have the Logitech Driving Force Pro for $149.95. That's the cheapest I've seen it that isn't on the net. There may be one near you that has the same price.
jzab is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2006, 06:04 PM   #6
Sapper
Back to the AU

I'm looking for a PC wheel, GTR 2 is PC only. As far as I can tell the Driving Force Pro is a Playstation 2 wheel. Thanks for the input anyway.
Old 15-11-2006, 07:46 PM   #7
philstoj

Originally Posted by hot xr6
I'm looking for a PC wheel, GTR 2 is PC only. As far as I can tell the Driving Force Pro is a Playstation 2 wheel. Thanks for the input anyway.
Its USB, you can program it on your pc and it will work perfectly.
philstoj is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-11-2006, 07:54 PM   #8
Ruger
Bseries Moderator

I have a driving force pro wheel on the pc all you have to do is install the latest logitec software and it recognises it perfectly.
The 900 degrees is fairly useles in most games bar LFS most of the time i have it programmed to 220 degrees.

ive driven on the g25 and the shifter is what turns me away its far too small and flimsy and the gates are way too close together. the pedal set is very nice though. i ended up building a h shifter for the DFP anyway that is much closer to a real h shifter dimensions thats the way to go.
H shifters are fun but V8 supercars are the only modern race series that really use them WTCC ETCC and FIA GTR championships all use sequential shifters.

DFP on PC no drama

The price difference initially of the DFP vs MOMO the momo wins. physically the momo is a larger steering wheel and there isnt really a need for 900 degrees.
the dfp comes in handy if im feeling up for a bit of gt4 though.

Only those that attempt the absurd achieve the impossible.

Serviced and maintained by Mascot Auto Repairs
Ruger is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-11-2006, 10:47 AM   #9
Sapper
Back to the AU

Originally Posted by Ruger
i ended up building a h shifter for the DFP anyway that is much closer to a real h shifter dimensions thats the way to go.
How'd you do that mate? Thats really caught my interest. Can you hook it up to any wheel or just the dfp?
Old 16-11-2006, 11:08 AM   #10
pb02
inconceivable!

I had the logitech. But I would love something with a clutch to go with my hyperstimulator... only problem is I don't have time any more to play and the Hyperstimulator has been locked up in the garage for 6 months.....
pb02 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-11-2006, 11:12 AM   #11
S3SR

Well, my old Thrustmaster steering wheel has finally died at the hands of a 620hp Lamborghini Murcielago R-GT. Which means i now have to go about procuring another wheel to feed my V12 addiction. The thing is, I can't seem to be able to look past the new Logitech G25, and (unfortunately) its $500 pricetag. I can get the old Momo Logitech wheel for about $140 but it doesn't have the leather wheel, stainless body, 6 speed H-gate shifter, clutch pedal and twin force feedback motors.

My question is, is it worth the $500 (for people who already have it)? If not, what is worth getting? I don't want some cruddy peice of junk because a quality game like GTR2 demands a quality wheel.
$380 ex gst you mean.....im ordering one at work soon and gonna beg the logitech rep to gimme manufacturers price... its an actual manual box and clutch and momo wheel

2002 Ford Falcon AU S3 SR
2006 BF MKI Falcon XR6
2008 Mazda BT50 SDX
2004 BA XR8 ute
2006 AUDI A4 B7
2013 FG II XR6 Ute
2006 Ford Territory TX
2003 Ford Falcon XR8
2009 Territory Turbo Ghia

Current: 2012 Audi A4 B8 2.0T Quattro
S3SR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-11-2006, 11:36 AM   #12
Ruger
Bseries Moderator

How'd you do that mate? Thats really caught my interest. Can you hook it up to any wheel or just the dfp?
what i did was build a little box with the h pattern cut out in the top, drilled a notch in the bottom for the rod to sit in used one of those long threads from bunnings as the shifter stick and a old knob i had in the garage. built 2 little platforms with microswitches lined up so the stick hits them in their respective gear and used tool clips as gates so it clicks into gear. wired the switches to an old gamepad i had laying around and it just plugs into usb and gets recognised as that controller.

Only those that attempt the absurd achieve the impossible.

Serviced and maintained by Mascot Auto Repairs
Ruger is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-11-2006, 05:55 PM   #13
XPfalcon170

i bought the g25 logitech a few weeks ago. best steering wheel i've ever bought for computer. definatly worth the money. three gear shift options: H-patern, sequential, and paddles. 900degree rotation which is adjustable to what you want, and a clutch pedal!!!
XPfalcon170 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-12-2006, 12:02 PM   #14
Sapper
Back to the AU

Well, I've done it. There's a brand new Logitech G25 hooked up to my PC and....WOW. Tried on GTR2, rFactor and NFSC and its awesome on all of those games. Cost me $429 from EB Games (price matched from DS Powerhouse. It was definitely worth it. Thanks for all the tips guys.
Old 20-12-2006, 12:12 PM   #15
Martyvan

Well done, you watch your lap times drop now, you will be too quick for everyone... !
Martyvan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post