Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
30-11-2006, 09:17 PM | #1 | ||
Ive got no idea what the hell is up with my car. thinking its the headgasket maybe, the car runs perfect, but soon as i drive for 5 mins the temp goes sky high and when i stop pop the bonnet bit of smoke coming from back of engine.
and the water in the radiator is beyond boiling. Rego is due on the 8th so i dont know what im gona do Just wandering if i can borrow a car off anyone till monday nite il will put 50 bucks petrol money in. |
30-11-2006, 09:25 PM | #2 | ||
Hahaha
50 buck's!!!!!1! WoW dont go crazy:P Buy the frigen skyline allready. |
30-11-2006, 09:32 PM | #3 | ||
water pump maybe ? radiater ? who knows. Buying a skyline may temporarily solve you problems.
Jared If ya free on the weekend I can have a look at it for you, I'm wrecking a complete EB so partrs will be cheap provided it's not the headgasket. |
30-11-2006, 09:33 PM | #4 | ||
alright thankx, i just need to borrow a car till monday nite to get to work on the weekend
30-11-2006, 09:35 PM | #5 | ||
catch some public transport...?
30-11-2006, 09:37 PM | #6 | ||
do you honestly expect someone who doesnt know you to lend you a car?????? i know i wouldnt!
30-11-2006, 09:40 PM | #7 | |||
public transport for a few days Da_Fish - we all have to do it at some point
30-11-2006, 09:41 PM | #8 | ||
jeeze i was just asking, ill just sell parts off and run it into the ground and dump it at a wreckers
30-11-2006, 09:43 PM | #9 | ||
give some of us a few mins of taking things than you could take it to the wreckers and get whatever car you like
30-11-2006, 09:44 PM | #10 | ||
E-Series Firemaker
Come on mate, just because there are a couple of problems you don't throw the car away! Imagine it was a BA or something out of warranty, you'll be up for twice as much! And yes I have seen a few BAs blow head gaskets!
Alex
30-11-2006, 09:46 PM | #11 | ||
I had 3 mates look at it 2nite and we cant work out wat the problem is, when i drive it drives like a dream temp stays in the middle then when i stop the temp goes red and it smokes bad and the water boils bad
30-11-2006, 09:46 PM | #12 | |||
30-11-2006, 09:50 PM | #13 | ||
Gunna girlie-man
and also leaking oil down the back of the engine somewhere???? it was smokin like crazy when we stop
30-11-2006, 09:50 PM | #14 | ||
yeah wierd *** problem, we were revin it hard to heat it up but the temp didnt go up then after a minute all the water just went everywhere, stupid car
30-11-2006, 09:50 PM | #15 | ||
sounds like the clutch fan is ******. Try spinning it by hand, if it spinf really freely it's stuffed.
30-11-2006, 09:51 PM | #16 | |||
MIGHTY MAGPIES 2010
Location: yarram se vic in the shed listening to pinkfloyd and rubbing panels
30-11-2006, 09:52 PM | #17 | ||
Gunna girlie-man
what about the oil??? we gave it a degrease at the car wash but its still doin it
30-11-2006, 09:55 PM | #18 | |||
if it's oil that's burning, and it's overheating & bubbling the coolant... sounds like a head gasket :\
30-11-2006, 09:56 PM | #19 | ||
What would be cheaper, replacing the engine or fixing the head
30-11-2006, 09:57 PM | #20 | |||
30-11-2006, 09:58 PM | #21 | ||
i was actually thinking about that, but dont i have to replace the ecu, wiring looms and all that stuff?
30-11-2006, 09:59 PM | #22 | ||
MIGHTY MAGPIES 2010
Location: yarram se vic in the shed listening to pinkfloyd and rubbing panels
it will depend on if you warp the head
30-11-2006, 09:59 PM | #23 | |||
30-11-2006, 10:01 PM | #24 | ||
ok thankx for the help people
30-11-2006, 10:09 PM | #25 | ||
if its the head gasket which i hope its not, ill sell off the wheels and sound system and give the rest to a wreckers and just get another falcon, easy way out
30-11-2006, 10:18 PM | #26 | ||
all that for the price of a head gasket
ill give ya $ 100 for the wheels infact ill give you 1 grand for the whole car with the blown head gasket
30-11-2006, 10:19 PM | #27 | ||
100$ for the wheels, dont think so sorry there only 1 month old brand new 18" koya octanes that cost me close to 2 grand
30-11-2006, 10:22 PM | #28 | ||
$1001 :P
Dont sell it, its an easy fix compared to selling the car for peanuts and getting something else. A head gasket to get done by a pro will be $6-700. A new wreckers motor done by the E series boys could be done for $500. Au motor requires a $200 tensioner setup to use your manifolds with AU accessories or heaps of grinding to use your accessories so it might end costing a fair bit more than a replacement EB-ED motor. Lol at $100 for wheels, good luck.
30-11-2006, 10:25 PM | #29 | ||
ok well ill look into geting a new engine maybe, teaches me right for making it look good before making it run good lol
01-12-2006, 06:06 PM | #30 | ||
ok people its all good, took it to the radiator guy all the problem was the whole radiator system was stuffed, needed new radiator, new cap, new top and bottom hoses and new thermostat and a radiator flush. all up costin $385
the head gasket is fine! |