Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
The Bar For non Automotive Related Chat |
01-01-2007, 08:06 PM | #1 | ||
Hi there,
Has anyone here had experience in getting rid of (I should say relocating), Green Tree Frogs? Don't get me wrong, I love them compared to the 000's of Cane Toads we have here, but they are seriously becomming a nuisance. At any one time there are about 7 of them residing in our TOILET! Now, if it was just me at home it doesn't bother me that much, but I have a Wife and 2 young kids. Peeing on them has become quite a sport here, but sometimes, one would like a little privacy. Late one rainy night they ventured from the loo and I managed to relocate 6 of them outside. The next morning, they decided our dunny was nicer han the garden. They are causing minor problems like, Frog 5h1t throughout the Laundry and Toilet area, they climb in under the rim and make their way up the clean water pipe so when you flush it, water only trickles past them which doesn't flush the grogans away! Eventually they move and you can flush as normal for a few hours, but this is getting a bit much when you sit down for a dump and something licks your dangly bits! Thought they'd hate the "BLU LOO" tablet in the cistern - nope. Tried the Bleach Tablet in the cistern, nope! Tried leaving pee in the water overnight - THEY LOVE THE STUFF! And what was worse was in the morning they all hop out and leave pee prints all over the floors! HELP!!!! We're being invaded! Cheers, Mike |
01-01-2007, 08:11 PM | #2 | |||
01-01-2007, 08:28 PM | #3 | ||
01-01-2007, 08:30 PM | #4 | |||
01-01-2007, 08:33 PM | #5 | |||
01-01-2007, 08:34 PM | #6 | ||
It'll Buff Out.
I got good results from a 2 Wood, its personal preference though, you might do better with a 1 Wood.
01-01-2007, 08:38 PM | #7 | ||
If you put all 7 frogs into a bag them drive 100km and release them, they will back in your toilet within 24 hours.
01-01-2007, 08:43 PM | #8 | ||
Boooostn'
Um. I have to ask.. How the hell do they get to your toilet? Don't you have doors/windows/flyscreens?
2012 FPV GS Ute - Kinetic, Supercharged 5.0L, 6spd ZF auto, leather interior - The Boosted Daily! 1979 XD Fairmont Ghia - Silver, 302C V8, Full velour interior, slowly building her up to be a tough cruiser! 2002 Nissan Patrol ST - Desert Gold, 4.8L DOHC 6cyl petrol (Soon to be reequipped with a 5.7L LS1 V8), 5speed auto, lifted, locked, 33's, nature destruction vehicle! |
01-01-2007, 08:44 PM | #9 | ||
I kept on having my earth leakage trip out, I went around and turned everything off, trying to work out what appliance was casuing the trip, eventually I got a mate whos an electrican around to have a look and when we looked at the powerbox we found this stuff leaking from the board, we took off the panels and there was a semi-cooked green tree frog laying across the wiring.
01-01-2007, 08:48 PM | #10 | |||
I'm buggered if I know. But this is Queensland, it's bloody hot and most of the time the big doors are open with just the screen doors closed to let the air in. I know this thread sounds funny, but it's really getting annoying having them around. They are an endangered species due to the exploding population of Cane Toads destroying Frog habitat, so I couldn't bare to harm them or put them somewhere where the toads will just eat em. Running out of ideas! Mike |
01-01-2007, 08:50 PM | #11 | |||
1967 XR Falcon
01-01-2007, 08:52 PM | #12 | |||
01-01-2007, 08:52 PM | #13 | |||
01-01-2007, 08:55 PM | #14 | ||
Speed Demon
That's the funniest story I've heard in ages ...... although I tend to think you like them licking your dangly bits!!!
First of all, I'd try closing all doors and windows at night - I don't know how else they could be getting inside your house and to your toilet??!! Just pick them up and go and dump them down the nearest stormwater drain - that oughta do it
01-01-2007, 08:59 PM | #15 | |||
01-01-2007, 09:04 PM | #16 | |||
No stormwater drain around here either, no kerb and channel for miles! And yes, doesn' everyone like their dangly bits licked from time to time??? ;) (That was borderline I reckon!) Mike |
01-01-2007, 09:08 PM | #17 | ||
here is another forum I found for you:
Frog forum other sites: QLD frog society green site-not dial-up friendly
01-01-2007, 09:08 PM | #18 | ||
Lol that's funny as.
Best part is the mention of them licking the 'dangling bits' haha. Sorry i can't be any help but yeah lol |
01-01-2007, 09:13 PM | #19 | |||
I can't believe I'm about to post questions on a Frog Forum. Better still, I can't believe the IS a Frog Forum! Mike |
01-01-2007, 09:17 PM | #20 | ||
green tree frogs are awesome. put them in a fish tank and keep them as pets.
01-01-2007, 09:18 PM | #21 | ||
Lol i can imagine all the threads on there:
Show us your green tree frog What's your favourite frog Etc etc haha, Who would actually go on there |
01-01-2007, 09:48 PM | #22 | ||
Maybe you could train them as "Grogan masters", where they can be trained professionals at getting rid of whatever goes in the loo, thus saving water!
They probably just like the coldness of the surfaces near the dunny area, maybe there is some kind of surface repellant you can spray under doors etc to discourage them |
01-01-2007, 09:49 PM | #23 | ||||
And if all else fails, the Sourbastard method Frogs Legs Recipe courtesy of Graham Kerr Show: The Galloping Gourmet Episode: Frogs' Legs 4 pairs of frogs legs All purpose flour Clarified butter Salt, black pepper 2 garlic cloves, finely smashed 2 tablespoons parsley, roughly chopped 1 tablespoon fresh basil, finely chopped, or 1 teaspoon dried* 1 tablespoon fresh chives, finely chopped, or 1 teaspoon dried* 1 tablespoon fresh tarragon, finely chopped, or 1 teaspoon dried* 1/4 cup Calvados, heated 1/4 cup dry white wine, plus 2 tablespoons Large Granny Smith apple 2 tablespoons sour cream 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce 2 teaspoons capers *If dried herbs are used tie these in a muslin bag Separate frogs legs and dry thoroughly with a cloth. Lightly flour. Place some clarified butter in a frying pan on the heat and add the floured and seasoned frogs legs. Fry gently. Smother the frogs legs with the smashed garlic and turn the legs after 2 minutes. Add the herbs in the pan and then pour over heated Calvados and set alight - give the pan a good shake and then add the dry white wine. Reduce the heat - cover and allow to cook gently for 4 minutes. Cut the apple in half - scoop out the center with a teaspoon leaving 1/4-inch of flesh around the outside. Heat broiler unit to medium. Place the apple under the broiler for 10 minutes. Season the frogs legs with salt and pepper, add the sour cream, Worcestershire sauce and capers and then the 2 tablespoons of dry white wine. Stir gently to combine. Place the frogs legs on a heated serving dish - coat with a little of the sauce and serve the rest of the sauce in the broiled apple halves.
01-01-2007, 09:56 PM | #24 | ||
Well, the question has been posted on the bloody Frog Forum under the very inventive name of "amphibiousproblemous".
Can't believe I'm posting a Frog Link Let's see where this leads...... |
01-01-2007, 10:02 PM | #25 | |||
I'd like to employ you as our preferred "Grogan Master Trainer". When can you start? ;) Mike |
01-01-2007, 10:03 PM | #26 | ||
Set up an area on your back verandah where there is water and foliage..you know pot plants etc the frogs will live there quite happily and not come inside..provided they have moisture and shelter.
Cane toads can't climb..frogs can..get the idea. And they will help to keep the mozzies and midges under control.
01-01-2007, 10:06 PM | #27 | |||
....just need to get a back verandah first..... ;) We have a pretty nice, green, sheltered setup out the back but they seem to still prefer my 5h1tter! I'm liking the Frogs Legs ^^^ recipe more each time I read it! Mike |
01-01-2007, 10:12 PM | #28 | ||
i have seen pet stores in alice springs selling the buggers for $50 each!
01-01-2007, 10:17 PM | #29 | ||
FTF Club Moderator
Hey mike I like your username on the Frog Forums. amphibiousproblemous
I wounder if the Frog Forums would call themselves FF.com :
Albert Einstein: Es ist schwieriger, eine vorgefaßte Meinung zu zertrümmern als ein Atom. (It is more difficult to alter a preconception than split an atom) Falcon Tickford FPV (FTF) Car Club of NSW Fords in the Park 2010 I use and recommend Stingray Car Security. http://www.stingraycar.com.au/ |
01-01-2007, 10:19 PM | #30 | |||
Just thinking though, how long would a frog survive (or many frogs for that matter) inside a condom shoved up someone's clacker? Would they make the flight???? ;) Still no response from the frogsperts either. Seems us Ford nuts know more about Big Green Monsters (and I'm not talking about recoils coupe), than they do! huh Mike |