Old 04-01-2007, 06:25 AM   #1
AKA302

Default Manual or Auto?? XR6T

G'day Guys,

My mate is in the process of buying a BA XR6T and was wondering weather to get a manual or auto?? He will be doing the usual mods aiming for 300rwks so with thant in mind what would be better manual of auto?? Also uni-chip or flash tuner?

Thanks,

Mick.

Last edited by AKA302; 04-01-2007 at 06:56 AM.
AKA302 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2007, 09:26 AM   #2
vandrsxr6

Auto and Flash Tuner, the tuners are dearer but uni-chips are ****.

310rwkw and always chasing more

Now with 6th Gear

RAPID PERFORMANCE

ORSM FORD CRUISER
vandrsxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2007, 09:32 AM   #3

The auto will be quicker on the 1/4 mile if he has plans to take it to the track.

It's suave, more subtle, and yet no less stirring. In fact, the boosted Ford is more polished than any big sedan Australia has ever produced. It's just so damn good, it makes the SS feel crude... Ignore the WRX. Forget the E49. Falcon XR6 Turbo is king.
Old 04-01-2007, 09:41 AM   #4
MightyXR6Turbo
Boooostn'

I've got a BA Mk1 auto XR6T, if he wants to get to 300rwkW and get good consistent times on the 1/4 mile, definately get an auto.. making sure of course he gets a nice big trans cooler Definately get the flashtuner, don't even think about unichips.

1979 XD Fairmont Ghia - Silver, 302C V8, Full velour interior, slowly building her up to be a tough cruiser!

2002 Nissan Patrol ST - Desert Gold, 4.8L DOHC 6cyl petrol (Soon to be reequipped with a 5.7L LS1 V8), 5speed auto, lifted, locked, 33's, nature destruction vehicle!
MightyXR6Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2007, 09:43 AM   #5
Jock260
Cast Iron fan

the auto is good, but nothing beats a manual in my opinion
Old 04-01-2007, 09:49 AM   #6
GTP owner

I have always been a manual driver in the past - the purity of driving experience appeals to me. But after buying a series 1 XR6T manual I have changed my mind. I will buy the auto next time. The manual just is not quite right with the turbo - spool up time, hesitation between gears etc. Autos just suit turbos better, and after driving 75,000km with the manual I have come to realise this.
GTP owner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2007, 09:50 AM   #7

Originally Posted by Jock260
Yeap agree.

It all depends on what the car is going to be used for. And unless you are Vin Diesel then there is more to life than the 1/4 mile :eclipsee_
Old 04-01-2007, 10:02 AM   #8

I wouldn't even consider an auto no matter how good its is. Manual is the only way.
Old 04-01-2007, 10:04 AM   #9
mowog
Discovery 4

There are many converts from the third pedal after they drive a car with a ZF. I sold my manual car to buy an XR6T BFII Auto.

If your budget is high enough go shopping for a 6 speed auto you wont be sorry.
Lotus Trooper.
Mini Inspired by Goodwood.
mowog is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2007, 10:07 AM   #10
ADSXR8

Originally Posted by MITCHAY
I wouldn't even consider an auto no matter how good its is. Manual is the only way.
I am very much in your club.

When I purchased my BF Typhoon, I test droveboth, 6spd auto was great, actually it was fabulous, but the manual is the real drivers car, and I dont regret my decision at all!
Old 04-01-2007, 10:09 AM   #11

Originally Posted by mowog
There are many converts from the third pedal after they drive a car with a ZF. I sold my manual car to buy an XR6T BFII Auto.

If your budget is high enough go shopping for a 6 speed auto you wont be sorry.
I thought it was standard now, so bargaining is not going to be that hard. And prices for the BF2 have come down.

The ZF has brought some people over to the lazy side, but there is still no substitute for good self shifting.

Unless you are obsessed about time slips of course, and even then its not like the manual is slow.

edit: forgot his going after a BA. In that case id definitely be going a T65 over the 4SA any day.
Old 04-01-2007, 10:19 AM   #12

Flash tuner > Unichip

Personally I always will take a manual over an auto, I just find auto's so loathsome and boring - BUT I will admit that the auto's in the XR6T's suit the cars very much. Not true for all turbo cars though (can anyone remember the disaster WRX auto)...
1966 Ford Mustang coupe. 347 stroker, PA reverse manual C4, TCE high stall converter, B&M Pro Ratchet, Edelbrock alum heads, Edelbrock intake manifold, MSD ignition, Holley Street HP 750 CFM carb, gilmer drive, wrapped Hooker Super Comp Headers, dual 3" straight through exhaust, Bilstein shocks, custom springs, full poly suspension, American Racing rims, Open Tracker roller spring saddles and shelby drop.

merlin is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2007, 10:39 AM   #13

This is probably the one of major reasons why I decided not to buy a Falcon or Commodore-they are all AUTO!

XR6T sure it is fast and all, but all of them are auto pretty much.

I reckon turbos sound better if they are manual too.
Old 04-01-2007, 10:53 AM   #14

Originally Posted by merlin
Flash tuner > Unichip

Personally I always will take a manual over an auto, I just find auto's so loathsome and boring - BUT I will admit that the auto's in the XR6T's suit the cars very much. Not true for all turbo cars though (can anyone remember the disaster WRX auto)...
I have a an auto WRX though its not a race machine it isn't slow...Its on boost all the time when its wanted..
The auto is unbreakable in them also, which can't be said about their manual.. But to be fair thats driver abuse...
Old 04-01-2007, 10:55 AM   #15

Originally Posted by ebxr8240
I have a an auto WRX though its not a race machine it isn't slow...Its on boost all the time when its wanted..
The auto is unbreakable in them also, which can't be said about their manual.. But to be fair thats driver abuse...
And to be fair that pretty much goes for Fords manuals aswell.
Old 04-01-2007, 12:05 PM   #16
GlennBA

For a BA1, got the auto over the 5 speed... for a BA2 go the 6 speed manual over the auto.
GlennBA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2007, 01:17 PM   #17
charles_wif_xf
Purveyor of filth

Originally Posted by GlennAUII
For a BA1, got the auto over the 5 speed... for a BA2 go the 6 speed manual over the auto.
Yep, what Glennie said.
charles_wif_xf is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2007, 01:25 PM   #18
bt0

Manual. I bought my car in QLD and drove it to WA so I could get a manual :P
bt0 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2007, 01:37 PM   #19
Jock260
Cast Iron fan

manual will always be the true and pure form of driving, you are in total contol of everything, maybe the auto's are quicker, but unless your life revolves around a little timeslip at the end of 400m, manuals will always be my preference....IMO _2:
Old 04-01-2007, 01:53 PM   #20
AKA302

Guy's

I really appreciated the feed back. I have a felling its going to be the auto with a flash tuner as the budget won't allow him to buy a 6sp..

Thanks again,

Mick.
Old 04-01-2007, 02:04 PM   #21
AKA302

manual will always be the true and pure form of driving, you are in total contol of everything, maybe the auto's are quicker, but unless your life revolves around a little timeslip at the end of 400m, manuals will always be my preference....IMO _2:
I agree with you Manual all the way but i think the 1/4 time will play a big part in his decision.

Mick.
Old 04-01-2007, 02:09 PM   #22
WINDSR
Genuine V8

Do you want to have fun when driving it? Manual all the way.

If you want TAXI spec or 1/4 mile, go the auto.

WINDSR plates for sale. (VIC) PM if interested.
WINDSR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2007, 05:08 PM   #23
GlennBA

Originally Posted by WINDSR
Do you want to have fun when driving it? Manual all the way.

If you want TAXI spec or 1/4 mile, go the auto.
i agree, but the 5 speeds in XR's are junk..
GlennBA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2007, 06:00 PM   #24
XR8-260

I haven't driven either but the mag journos seemed to slam the 5spd. Apparantly the auto is well suited to the engine.
XR8-260 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-01-2007, 07:02 PM   #25
AUIII XR8 MAN
DJR TM#54

Location: on my p.c now with internet! ok i'll still use works internet too.

Manual is alot more fun to drive. Flash Tuner for sure.
Old 04-01-2007, 09:17 PM   #26
Bluehoon
Hoon On The Rise

Auto IMO, far better with mods and cheaper than swapping out T5 for T56, let alone other mods...

FGX-XR8 Manual, BFII E-Gas, '11 GSXR 1000 - Love 'em!
FPV Tickford Club of NSW - www.fpvclub.com
Bluehoon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-01-2007, 12:16 AM   #27
XRchic
Hello

Manual and edit. The T5s are not that bad acutally, mine has taken a fair beating (the clutch is more the problem). I also race mine at the drags and the manual is a sh*tload more fun to race than autos... but I loathe autos. I will never get an auto in my life. Ugh. Did I mention that manuals rock? Especially XR6T manuals!

Forget the Unichip. I have had two. They dont last long and they dont do enough these days. Go the edit with a custom tune... just dial up the boost!!!

: Cobra :
XRchic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-01-2007, 12:38 AM   #28

Go the SS auto - it's the best compromise between auto and manual. ie if you get lazy in a mnaul, guess what, bad luck - you still have to change gears. Want some manual type fun in the sss auto, then slot the gear lever across and change gears up and down manually, with the precision and fast changes that come standard in any auto.

All those that like manuals - would you also like the old crank handle instead of a starter?

Old 05-01-2007, 07:18 AM   #29

Originally Posted by JC
Go the SS auto - it's the best compromise between auto and manual. ie if you get lazy in a mnaul, guess what, bad luck - you still have to change gears. Want some manual type fun in the sss auto, then slot the gear lever across and change gears up and down manually, with the precision and fast changes that come standard in any auto.

All those that like manuals - would you also like the old crank handle instead of a starter?
Yes bring back the crank handle, would be a great workout!

I have owned both the SSS auto and manual B series Falcons and the manual mode in the auto is a poor relation to a real manual - gets tedious very fast. Sorry but in my mind the manual is a load more fun with far more control - changing gears in a SSS auto is boring as hell as there is no clutch to control slip/revs - just look at the latest MOTOR - back to back testing of auto vs manual XR6T, the manual came out ahead in performance terms.

Manual all the way (dont let little things like practicality in a gridlocked city sway you : )
1966 Ford Mustang coupe. 347 stroker, PA reverse manual C4, TCE high stall converter, B&M Pro Ratchet, Edelbrock alum heads, Edelbrock intake manifold, MSD ignition, Holley Street HP 750 CFM carb, gilmer drive, wrapped Hooker Super Comp Headers, dual 3" straight through exhaust, Bilstein shocks, custom springs, full poly suspension, American Racing rims, Open Tracker roller spring saddles and shelby drop.

merlin is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-01-2007, 08:30 AM   #30
colossus
Secret Sleuth

Originally Posted by JC

Bit of a false comparison - a starter has a proven undeniable advantage over a crank handle.

Auto's still have their own brain that dosnt do what you want when you want, cant dump revs, sometimes holds revs, sometimes dosnt, sometimes changes down to what you want, sometimes dosnt, are still heavier and more complex than a manual box, no control around a track or even twisties on the road, about their only advantage is a poofteenth of a second for drag racers. I am a car enthusiast who enjoys driving (an integral part of which is a clutch pedal otherwise you are just steering) therefore never again for me until they can improve them much more - I'll stick with the manuals.