Old 08-02-2007, 06:36 PM   #1
Wicked Pursuit
WIK13D

Default southern 80

tha southern 80 ski race is on this weekend woundering if any 1 is going. i'll be down there observing in SUPER MAN ex hellbent. let us no

Wicked Pursuit is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-02-2007, 06:46 PM   #2
JBomb3000

I'll be down there for sure, been going for the last 6-7 years, fantastic event. Not as good from a viewing point of view as say Mildura but the best river race in Austalia no doubt. What class are you running in? I saw the boat at the lake charm point score on the long weekend, looked like it was running strong. But what else would expect being from the Cranny stable.
JBomb3000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-02-2007, 06:51 PM   #3
Wicked Pursuit
WIK13D

will be running unlimited and haveing a run in the dash on sat and should do social as well i think n yeah it flys just got the motor rebuilt for da 80 so we should be able to put on a show. do better then last year any way we run our other boat short circuit last year and snapped rockers at every bloody race
Old 08-02-2007, 07:06 PM   #4
JBomb3000

This year is probably one of the most competitive superclass fields i have seen. Going to be very interested to see how showdown goes been a bloody long time since we have had a decent twin rig. Now that i think of it showdown was the last one. But yeah surely every year that goes by is one year closer stinga is to finally wining it. My top 3 Stinga, Hellbent and Syndicate. Would love to see the chief up there too but i doubt it. Good luck with it any way, if i see the boat around i'll come over and say g'day.
JBomb3000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-02-2007, 07:18 PM   #5
Wicked Pursuit
WIK13D

Originally Posted by JBomb3000
This year is probably one of the most competitive superclass fields i have seen. Going to be very interested to see how showdown goes been a bloody long time since we have had a decent twin rig. Now that i think of it showdown was the last one. But yeah surely every year that goes by is one year closer stinga is to finally wining it. My top 3 Stinga, Hellbent and Syndicate. Would love to see the chief up there too but i doubt it. Good luck with it any way, if i see the boat around i'll come over and say g'day.
yeah i recon your on the money there wild fire and the gun will be up there as well id say its a shame hazy ex moonshot wont be down but cant realy blame him after what happerend last year
Old 08-02-2007, 07:26 PM   #6
Armageddon Designs
Automotive Graphic artist

Ahh Crap!! I was watching some ski racing today on Austar and I was acually thinking when was it on. Bugger, I wanted to go this year and can now I live closer!

: ARMAGEDDON DESIGNS - NEW SITE NOW ONLINE :

Armageddon Designs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-02-2007, 07:31 PM   #7
Wicked Pursuit
WIK13D

oh well you still have robinvale and mildurra short of that you will have to wait 4 the bridge 1 up but the 80 is the best i cant compare it to anything summer nats or power crusie arnt even in the same leage
Old 08-02-2007, 10:47 PM   #8
dinga
???

I wish I was going....

I had a seat for the trip but couldn't afford the beer bill !!!!!

My brother is skiing behind Dripping Wet in the Under 8 Litre (I think) with the old man observing. The're running Saturday and Sunday as well..
dinga is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-02-2007, 10:53 PM   #9
Armageddon Designs

Can you guys get heaps of photo's for us? I trawl the net for ages looking for good pics, of the boots, but can never find any.

Old 09-02-2007, 12:14 PM   #10

I'm leaving for the southern 80 tomorrow with a few mates, I've been into skiing and boats since I was a baby. It's gonna be a big one in Echuca tomorrow night. Can't wait.
Old 09-02-2007, 03:46 PM   #11
turboute
turboute

Come on people - start posting pic of big turbo V8 goodness already...
turboute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-02-2007, 03:49 PM   #12

Originally Posted by turboute
Come on people - start posting pic of big turbo V8 goodness already...
for sure!....
wish i could have gone this year.....other things came up..

pics and hopefully vids please
Old 10-02-2007, 06:35 PM   #13

Hopefully she wont be cancelled.

There been an accident, Head on collision between 2 boats, One Missing, Two seriously injured and airlifted to Melbourne...

Me and the boys leaving in about 20 minutes..
Old 10-02-2007, 06:37 PM   #14
Melz

The event will not be cancelled. It has been moved down the river, away from the accident site.

At this stage, unfortunately, one of the guys has passed away. Sounds like he was a local too :(
Melz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-02-2007, 07:06 PM   #15
dinga
???

They definately raced today. And they will be running again tomorrow.

The guy my brother was skiing with fell at the last turn and had to go to hospital to get 7 stitches in his face and mouth.

Apparently it was kaos at the hospital.
Old 10-02-2007, 07:19 PM   #16

yeah just saw the story on the news....definatley not good at all......
Old 10-02-2007, 07:54 PM   #17
Armageddon Designs

Sad to hear but I love how the news has to make out that it was part of the race, the headlines even say they aren't sure if they are competitors or not, they also bought up about the skier that died last year, to try and tarnish the event abit by the sounds of it!

Old 10-02-2007, 07:57 PM   #18
Melz

Originally Posted by Armageddon
Sad to hear but I love how the news has to make out that it was part of the race, the headlines even say they aren't sure if they are competitors or not, they also bought up about the skier that died last year, to try and tarnish the event abit by the sounds of it!
This was a competitor killed, a regular paticipant too and known to a few around here. It wasn't apart of the actual southern 80 race, but part of the event.
Melz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-02-2007, 08:15 PM   #19
Armageddon Designs

Ahh OK the news didn't seem to know what was going on at all, was it part of the blitz and what boats where they?

Old 10-02-2007, 08:24 PM   #20
dinga
???

From what I've heard, as there was only the short sprint races today, only half of the river was closed.

Further up the river, two wakeboard boats took the same corner in opposite directions and had a head on.

Although they weren't part of the actual race, it's put a downer on everything.
Old 10-02-2007, 08:51 PM   #21
Armageddon Designs

Originally Posted by dinga
From what I've heard, as there was only the short sprint races today, only half of the river was closed.

Further up the river, two wakeboard boats took the same corner in opposite directions and had a head on.

Although they weren't part of the actual race, it's put a downer on everything.
From what I saw on the news the one that made it to the bank looked like an old Everingham Hull with a big v8 in the back, looked familiar thats why I want to know what boats they were.

Old 10-02-2007, 09:25 PM   #22
dinga
???

Originally Posted by Armageddon
From what I saw on the news the one that made it to the bank looked like an old Everingham Hull with a big v8 in the back, looked familiar thats why I want to know what boats they were.
Sorry don't know those details...

Have just heard that tomorrows race has been shortend to around 40km's. Apparently the person who died went down with the boat and they are waiting for police divers.
Old 10-02-2007, 09:46 PM   #23
chrispie123

hey all not going this year just moved away from echuca, very interested to know who was involved as im in same age bracket and went to school in rochester so quite possibly know the 22 yo from rochester if you know the name melz could you pm me
chrispie123 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-02-2007, 10:41 PM   #24
dinga
???

Just saw on Foxtel.

The guy who is still missing is a Craig O'Toole.
Old 11-02-2007, 08:55 PM   #25

Just got home.

At the finish line today, where the boats are pulled back in, there was a Bullet 1800 That came unhitched and began to roll back down the ramp. It knocked over a kid, and careered into a fence, while we all watched. Looked like all was ok but still, lots of intense drama from the Southern 80 this weekend...

The boats name: "Nothin too serious"
Old 11-02-2007, 09:10 PM   #26
naughts
Hmmmmm Mulberry....

54 km race (deep creek marina to vic Park)
1st Stinga
2nd Hellbent
3rd The cheif
naughts is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2007, 01:50 PM   #27
qwigybo
hunting 300kw's

the boat that sunk was a mate of mine, we were camping on the bend where the crash was, they found craig and removed his body from the water yesterday. shaun and the driver of the other boat are still critical
qwigybo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2007, 01:58 PM   #28
dinga
???

Originally Posted by qwigybo
the boat that sunk was a mate of mine, we were camping on the bend where the crash was, they found craig and removed his body from the water yesterday. shaun and the driver of the other boat are still critical
Sorry to hear that....

My condolences to his family and friends.

Hope your other mate and the other driver pull through.
Old 13-02-2007, 03:27 PM   #29
Armageddon Designs

It's amazing how small the worls is and you usually only find out when something like this happens, My condolences to all.