You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 27-04-2005, 01:53 AM   #1

Default Looks like the EB is dead...

Some of you might of noticed I posted an EOI about all the good bits in my car. That's cos wrecking it out is one of my main options at the moment....

A few people know already that I've shortened the front end by about 10cm. Taken the head lights off, bonnet is gone, driver's side guard, bumper, radiator, thermos are rooted. I wish that was all, but the radiator support is bent like a bitch and the even worse part; the chassis rails are torn and a bit bent. I'd weld it all up but seems my welds on the exhaust decided to shit themselves and drop half the exhaust, I'll pass on that! Put a bit of a early end to the long weekend to say the least.

Girlfriend and I are both ok, no issues at all. The car still drives, doesn't hold coolant though and the thermofans have become one with the water pump. Getting it onto the trailer was a BASTARD with no P/S.

Don't know what will replace it, I'm keeping options open. I want an XB hardtop and was planning on getting one in the next 2 months but I might have to shelf that idea, which I'm not too happy about. Could get a $400 shitter and an XB, but I want something that's a bit of fun as a daily, petrol going the way it is I won't be able to drive a 351 that often.

I might post photos up later, I don't really like looking at them right now so it'll probably wait until I've got another car to get myself over all this.

Ahhhh the fun that is getting to work with no car! Lucky I still have my pushy, it's about to come in handy I think.

Ah well, back to bed to try get 4 hours of head down before work, fat chance.
Old 27-04-2005, 02:18 AM   #2
montyv8
Turbo Dinosaur FTMFW

at least you're both ok.
get a cheap shitter as a daily, driving the good car on the weekends makes up for it ;)
Old 27-04-2005, 02:30 AM   #3
InitialD
Low and Loud

Id get a daily shitter like a Sherpa maybe?? :P lol

Get the XB you want, I know you have wanted one for a while.

1993 Ford Falcon XR6 Poly Green Stationwagon - 4.0 I6, Auto, 3:45LSD, All the usual XR6 Stuff but in a wagon :
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-04-2005, 08:22 AM   #4

Ahh damn! Sorry to hear about the EB Rob, at least you're ok. Maybe you could get a 5 speed EA or EB on gas, to keep running costs down. That might allow you to pour more money into an XB. Just some thoughts.

Ash

It's suave, more subtle, and yet no less stirring. In fact, the boosted Ford is more polished than any big sedan Australia has ever produced. It's just so damn good, it makes the SS feel crude... Ignore the WRX. Forget the E49. Falcon XR6 Turbo is king.
Old 27-04-2005, 08:33 AM   #5

not good rob. Remember you will have to pay at least 2 lots of rego if you want to enjoy the XB only on weekends, this sucks.

And a 351 isnt much fun on petrol. I hate my XF with the 351, I had to fill up 3 times a week when I had, I did a bit of driving though and averaged about 220kms to a tank. Probably a shit tune but still.

Also you will get over not having all the mod cons like electrics, air con, quietness etc.

It will be tough but not a comfortable daily.
Old 27-04-2005, 08:54 AM   #6
Racecraft
they call me Tibbo

Reshell it, you could pick up a tidy EA with crappy CFi and 3 speed for under $1000 and do a swappsy with all your goodies... I'd spend $1000 and know your mechanicals are good instead of throwing $400 at a POS that'll cost you more in RWC and redgo alone.

Racecraft is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-04-2005, 09:03 AM   #7
NZ
~~~

yeah a reshell would be the go

"the man that crashs AFF"
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-04-2005, 09:24 AM   #8
TIKFD6
Number 5 is alive!

Not good Rob, Reshelling would be the better option, but is it really worth it?

"Experimental Racer" #6
1994 Gunmetal XG XR6 1997-1999
[B][COLOR=Red] 1994 Le Mans Red ED
2008 MA XR5 Mondeo

2015 VOLVO V60 T6 R-DESIGN-POLESTAR Enhanced

TIKFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-04-2005, 09:25 AM   #9
EA2BA

Yeah. but a cheap Gli EB, and we will have a "build Rob a new car mod day".

Send me a PM if you want to know anything

2010 Ford Ranger PK High Rider (Auto) - 2011 Ford Fiesta (Auto)
EA2BA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-04-2005, 11:59 AM   #10

Damn that sucks **** Rob. After all the work you've put into it...

Old 27-04-2005, 12:11 PM   #11

Thats a real bugger - i always thought your EB was one of the best looking/going/maintained cars in the club. Just so simple yet so effective.

Can i ask what happened, or would you rather not say?

And bugger a 351 with petrol going the way it is. Unless you can fart in the tank and make it run on that i wouldnt touch one. Shit, it was enough to make me go back to 4cyl! (well, it wasnt the only reason but it was one of them).
Old 27-04-2005, 12:55 PM   #12
Sundeep

That's tough luck Robbo. Hope youse are ok. That EB hammered lol.

I know of a EF with ELGT's, exhaust, extractors, superlows going cheap Rob. If you're interested let me know.

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-04-2005, 03:07 PM   #13
oneredED
need more boost

Aaaahhh crap Rob, that's a major bitch. I don't know what else to say, but i'm feeling for ya dude. I have an inkling of the feeling you have now as i was in a lesser yet similar situation not long ago. Shakes you up a bit, especially if you had passengers. Good luck to ya Rob, hopefully you sort something out and it doesn't hurt the bank too much :(

Jared
Stops due to: bendix, DBA
Shifter connected to: T5 manual
Power from: ???
Interior: velour and woodgrain
Cost: stuff all :P
oneredED is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-04-2005, 04:35 PM   #14

Damn Rob, as others have said atleast you and your gf are ok.

I'm guessing you just lost it, or was another car involved ?

I agree with the others, get an EA-EB on gas, put all ya good bits in.

Good luck, i'm sure there's heaps of people on here willing to help, myself included.

Damo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-04-2005, 06:14 PM   #15

I'm sorry to hear mate :(

Keep us updated, and I hope ya land on your feet out of this and end up with a better car (although your EB was pretty damn nice) :

Maybe, in a perverse way, this will present itself as an opportunity to ya As for your dreams of owning a 351 XB, maybe you could "start" with an economy-spec 302 on gas?

-Dave-
Old 27-04-2005, 07:35 PM   #16
ilsautomotive
Former E-Series Member

Sorry to hear it Rob, and best of luck with the decision ahead. Feel free to give us the details of the incident when/if you feel up to it. If you do part it out, I'll grab the climate control unit. :(
ilsautomotive is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-04-2005, 07:56 PM   #17

Another car is involved, I'll wait until the Police have sorted everything til I post details.
Old 27-04-2005, 08:04 PM   #18
TUFED6

That stinks. Not economical to get a panelbasher to fix the rad support and rails and do the rest yourself? Get it resprayed at your leisure?

Throw the clutch fan back on and a new radiator to get you moving.

- John (member #1 of the clutch fan revival club- down with thermos!!)

Last edited by TUFED6; 27-04-2005 at 08:05 PM.
TUFED6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-04-2005, 08:15 PM   #19

Damn rob, i'd noticed the EOI thread before this one and was wondering what the go was.

glad to hear you're both ok...
Old 27-04-2005, 11:09 PM   #20
sphell

sorry to hear that mate....everyones E-series are getting smashed up lately :(

on a brighter note, I got my rad support replaced for $450 when I stacked into a tree ages ago. I just asked the panel beaters to do a cashy....some dodgy small joint in Dandenong and they had it ready the next day. I think the half cut for the replacement rad support was $100 so $550 all up aint bad...u just gotta sort out the paint yourself, unless you can get one in the same colour.
sphell is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-04-2005, 11:13 PM   #21
pauly85
commodore bogan

if u want pm me some pics and ill tell ya if i can fix it....being a 3rd year panel beater im ITCHING to get some experience under my belt....its your call
pauly85 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-04-2005, 11:27 PM   #22
John_LS1

was shocked when you told me rob hope it all works out for you and thankfully you and your G/F are OK.
Old 28-04-2005, 10:39 AM   #23

Oh god! My favourite EB In the club was by far yours Rob. Everything was just so perfect on it and it looked great!
I'm sorry to hear what happened, But glad your both ok (even though you probs dont wanna hear it). Hopefully things work out mate ;)

-Dan
Old 28-04-2005, 11:06 AM   #24
chelvdog
Soul baby

Man Rob, sorry to hear you had a stack too. I really liked your EB, hope you get it back on the road mate.
Old 28-04-2005, 11:22 AM   #25

Originally Posted by Danny
Oh god! My favourite EB In the club was by far yours Rob. Everything was just so perfect on it and it looked great!
I'm sorry to hear what happened, But glad your both ok (even though you probs dont wanna hear it). Hopefully things work out mate ;)

-Dan
He could always buy a Fiesta or Focus eh? _2:
Old 28-04-2005, 11:25 AM   #26
spope

That sucks, big time. I know the feeling. Let us know if you are gonna wreck the car, I know there are parts I'm after
spope is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-04-2005, 05:46 PM   #27

Anyone got a heavy slide hammer? Can't get the friggin radiator out!
Old 28-04-2005, 06:03 PM   #28
EA2BA

tie it to a towbar and drive off

Old 28-04-2005, 06:37 PM   #29

That would involve turning the car around 180 degrees, which would require the P/S belt on, which requires the fans out, which requires the radiator support moved forward!
Old 28-04-2005, 06:40 PM   #30
EA2BA

tie car to a tree and pull the WHOLE car backwards then