Adams Polishes

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 11-02-2007, 01:27 PM   #1
DJR David

Default Where to live in/near Newcastle

Greetings all, looking at moving to Newcastle with my work in the future. I want to start researching now, so can anyone suggest where I should consider, and just as important, anywhere to avoid living??

Looking for a place to bring up 2 young children, 4/5 bedroom house. Approx $350,000 to $450,000. Away from hoons and bums. After a nice QUIET place. :

Dont mind the drive to work, up to 25 minutes from the CBD

thanks for any advice

David

DJR David is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2007, 01:35 PM   #2
eb_5litre
It'll Buff Out.

Look at:
Warners Bay, Macquarie Hills, Eleebana, Valentine, Belmont North, Mereweather

Avoid:
Windale, Carrington, Wickham, Toronto, Argenton, Cardiff, Edgeworth, Mayfield, Islington, Tighes Hill, Gateshead, Mt Hutton.

Of course these are just my opinion.... I can fully recommend Valentine as thats where I raise my family... been here 6 years now.
eb_5litre is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2007, 01:38 PM   #3
Ryan

Originally Posted by eb_5litre
Look at:
Yeah all of those areas are good.

I live about 20Ks away, from Newcastle (Raymond Terrace). I go to Tafe at Tighes Hill. No way in hell would I live there or Mayfield.
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2007, 01:42 PM   #4
eb_5litre
It'll Buff Out.

To add... Some parts of Charlestown are good and an excellent location, same with Kotara, Adamstown Heights and The Junction.

Just be careful of areas with Housing Commission, i'm pretty sure I know where most of them are as I used to work with Juvenile Offenders.
Old 11-02-2007, 01:49 PM   #5
56L
a.k.a PAULY

Look at:

Avoid:
Windale, Carrington, Wickham, Toronto, Argenton, Cardiff, Edgeworth, Mayfield, Islington, Tighes Hill, Gateshead, Mt Hutton.

Of course these are just my opinion.... I can fully recommend Valentine as thats where I raise my family... been here 6 years now.

agreed 100% on those areas ,definately around the warnersbay area ,cleanest lake on the east coast
1947 ford thames tipper V8 21 stud flat head
1939 ford beer barrel truck V8 24 stud flat head
HZJ diesel ute
HJ47 diesel ute
56L is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2007, 01:51 PM   #6
eb_5litre
It'll Buff Out.

Apart from "stinky corner" hehe
Old 11-02-2007, 02:03 PM   #7
DJR David

Apart from "stinky corner" hehe

looking at the realestate.co.au and domain.com.au with your suggestions certainly appeals. as for stinky corner??????
Old 11-02-2007, 02:09 PM   #8
eb_5litre
It'll Buff Out.

Yeah, dont worry its right on the lake and probably just a little out of most peoples price range.
Old 11-02-2007, 02:17 PM   #9
DJR David

Yeah, dont worry its right on the lake and probably just a little out of most peoples price range.
oky doky,

thanks for your tips!!!

If you know, how long from warners bay into the CBD during peak hour?

And a silly question, is the lake swimmable, or does everyone just go to the otherside and the surf beaches????
Old 11-02-2007, 02:33 PM   #10
eb_5litre
It'll Buff Out.

Well I've never swam in it but I have seen others do.

Not sure about Peak hour but the trip normally should take you no more than 20mins. It takes me about18-20mins and i'm about 3mins up the road from WB.
Old 11-02-2007, 02:37 PM   #11
DJR David

Not sure about Peak hour but the trip normally should take you no more than 20mins. It takes me about18-20mins and i'm about 3mins up the road from WB.

cool bananas, thanks. I have had a further look at the areas yo have suggested, and the whole area around where you are looks good

thanks for your help
Old 11-02-2007, 02:46 PM   #12
eb_5litre
It'll Buff Out.

No probs.
Old 11-02-2007, 03:39 PM   #13
SNB05T
Dan Brown Photography

yeah 20-30 minutes depending on where you live and working, trono(toronto) east isn't too bad since they got rid of half of the morons but its also getting pricey there my sister bought a 13 yr old house for $300k. id say cardiff, warners bay/lakelands. some good shopping centres but don't go on thursday night unless you like sitting out front of supre watching 15yr olds changing clothes (what is the fascination with that?) i miss newcastle, can someone convince the missus to move back please???????????
Old 11-02-2007, 04:43 PM   #14
Fairlane
V8 Powaah

EB_5litre your suburb guide sounds pretty much right on to me., though Cardiff isnt all that bad

Personally i would truly try to avoid Mayfield, Wallsend, Jesmond, Shortland, Carrington, Tighes Hill, Edgeworth, Glendale, Lambton- Pretty much anything directly west of Newcastle and West of Cardiff (which is where you will also find the worst traffic).

Areas to look for in Newie are to the South and Southwest, anything in Lake Macquaries is reasonable, housing is newer, less Housing Commission and generally better traffic, especially with the new Charlestown bypass (Green Road on Map). Some areas such as Merewether, Adamstown and Whitebridge will probably be out of your range though.

As for your question about driving, i doubt you will have any problems, you will find it difficult to find a suburb in Newcastle/ Lake Macquaries/ Maitland more than 30 mins from the CBD even from suburbs like Toronto, Swansea or West Wallsend

***I got bored so i drew a map, essentially avoid everything north of the red line and perhaps avoid the Windale area

XF S pack Sedan- AU 302 Windsor, T5, 2.77 LSD, Many Mods
Fairlane is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-02-2007, 04:53 PM   #15
SNB05T
Dan Brown Photography

Originally Posted by Fairlane
EB_5litre your suburb guide sounds pretty much right on to me., though Cardiff isnt all that bad

Personally i would truly try to avoid Mayfield, Wallsend, Jesmond, Shortland, Carrington, Tighes Hill, Edgeworth, Glendale, Lambton- Pretty much anything directly west of Newcastle and West of Cardiff (which is where you will also find the worst traffic).

Areas to look for in Newie are to the South and Southwest, anything in Lake Macquaries is reasonable, housing is newer, less Housing Commission and generally better traffic, especially with the new Charlestown bypass (Green Road on Map). Some areas such as Merewether, Adamstown and Whitebridge will probably be out of your range though.

As for your question about driving, i doubt you will have any problems, you will find it difficult to find a suburb in Newcastle/ Lake Macquaries/ Maitland more than 30 mins from the CBD even from suburbs like Toronto, Swansea or West Wallsend

***I got bored so i drew a map, essentially avoid everything north of the red line and perhaps avoid the Windale area
:hihi: :hihi: go the windale warriors! get rid of 98% of the idiots there ( have to keep wayne and shazza from windale there for laughs) and it'd be a nice place to live
Old 11-02-2007, 05:53 PM   #16
DJR David

Originally Posted by Fairlane

you must be having a quiet afternoon. :

Wow thanks Fairlaine for the map and tips

David
Old 12-02-2007, 09:56 AM   #17
coolkid

also east maitland and ashtonfield are only about 20 mins from the cbd and its a pretty easy drive plus maitland area is a bit more slow paced than the inner newcastle suburbs
coolkid is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2007, 01:37 PM   #18
Damien
Behind The Mixing Desk

I live out Maitland way and it usually takes me about 30-40 minutes to get into Newcastle CBD during peak hour. It depends on what your after, Maitland is certainly a lot more relaxed and "slow paced" than the coastal 'burbs, got to admit it's a nice place to raise kids. If you're looking around Maitland avoid Metford, and let us never speak of this again, hehe.
Old 12-02-2007, 03:11 PM   #19
Bill_R

I grew up in Rankin Park long before it became overdeveloped the way it is now so I kinda have an affinity with that area (but miss all the bush). There are lots of housing estates around that area but prices might go a bit higher than what you are thinking.
I'd agree with out Warners Bay way.
I'd also look around Redhead/Dudley way and maybe even further south towards Belmont.
Adamstown is mostly older homes but is a very central location.
The good thing about Newcastle is that there is heaps around and you can get to most anything you want without much fuss. You have the Lake, the semi-derelict CBD, major shopping centres, beaches, Port Stephens, Vineyards and the bush all within fairly easy reach.

The REALLY BAD thing is that they closed the Speedway which I grew up attending from the first meeting there ever. At least they still hold the Hillclimb once a year.
Bill_R is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-02-2007, 07:39 AM   #20
new2ford

Great map Fairlane - should be distributed to all town planners and real estate agents! Obviously the military still has to mop up a bit of resistance in the Windale area and then it will have the front line totally secured against the barbarians! Although an all-out assault on the Tighes Hill Carrington area would tidy things up a bit.

Hamilton, Chooks Hill (as it is known) and Merewether are the nice inner areas but older, trendy - probably houses too small and pricey for what you want DJR David.
Old 13-02-2007, 04:19 PM   #21
Bucket
XR5 Pilot

Somerset Park @ Thornton is nice as is the other Estate closer to East Maitland.
Definitiely Steer Clear of Windale...Raymond Terrace is a little shifty sometimes in my opinion. As are a number of other areas that have been mentioned and I dont have time to list them.
Old 13-02-2007, 07:52 PM   #22
DJR David

Originally Posted by Bucket
Somerset Park @ Thornton is nice as is the other Estate closer to East Maitland.
Definitiely Steer Clear of Windale...Raymond Terrace is a little shifty sometimes in my opinion. As are a number of other areas that have been mentioned and I dont have time to list them.

Certainly some VERY nice places in my price range at Somerset Park. Is there much there for young kids, or is it just a bunch of houses in the middle of nowhere? I guess about 25 mins drive to Newcastle CBD??

Certainly SEEMS suitable. Anyone else got any thoughts on this area?

Thanks so much to you all for the input so far :
Old 13-02-2007, 07:57 PM   #23
eb_5litre
It'll Buff Out.

Nothing that I can substantiate hehe
Old 13-02-2007, 08:44 PM   #24
NC 5ltr

steer clear of bolton point,well certain parts of it anyway.Have a look at cardiff heights.i have been there 13 years and havent had any trouble what-so-ever and its basically central to everything.

QUOTE What makes you think I'm going to park behind a VE? I don't even attend the Sydney Gay Mardi Gras! QUOTE
NC 5ltr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-02-2007, 02:08 PM   #25
coupdy do

Pacific palms is nice but not exactly close to newcastle
coupdy do is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-02-2007, 10:00 PM   #26
Damien
Behind The Mixing Desk

Originally Posted by DJR David
Certainly some VERY nice places in my price range at Somerset Park. Is there much there for young kids, or is it just a bunch of houses in the middle of nowhere? I guess about 25 mins drive to Newcastle CBD??
Yeah, or 30-40 in peak hour. I grew up in Thornton (which is basically what Somerset Park is, trust me, if you buy a house in this so-called 'Somerset Park' people still need to address your letters to Thornton), my folks still live there and they love it. It's a lovely suburb with excellent sporting facilities (three soccer fields, cricket pitch, tennis courts, skate park, indoor sports centre), a small shopping mall with a Coles (actually it is still a Bi-Lo at the moment, but with the rebranding to Coles they've started stocking Coles stuff), a great chinese restaurant, a Dominos Pizza, a Take Away Fish and Chip shop, Newsagent, cheap shop, butcher, liquor shop, all your usual commodities. There's a library next the the mall and across the road is the Thornton Public school. There is also a couple of Pre Schools around if your kids are that young. Plenty of schools in the surrounding suburbs with free school busses provided to and from nearly all of the big ones. I went through the Catholic system when I was a little snapper so I caught the bus over to the next suburb (Beresfield) every day to go to Primary School and then into Maitland for High School. Thornton has it's own train station and away from the residential section of the suburb is an Industrial Estate with various industrial buildings, most of which are open to the public. Thornton is located right at the northern mouth of the F3 Freeway which is also extremely handy.

Thornton has basically been built in three stages/sections: The Original Thornton section (which is the southern section, closest to the train station), the Parkwood Village section (basically the 1980s equivalent of Somerset Park, it's on the north west side of Thornton and backs on to Raymond Terrace Road) and now the Somerset Park section. Somerset Park is quite lovely, the developers have done a good job with what was otherwise swamp land/paddocks. There are a couple of playground areas and something they call 'The Ponds' (ie. a little wetland area pond type thing with reeds and whatnot). They're still selling land out there I believe, although I haven't seen Joey Johns on the TV for a while (he sort of became the face of Somerset Park during their massive ad campaign because he bought some land out there). Something I have heard (not sure if it's a rumour or not) is that Somerset has some kind of community policing thing going on that puts together some guidelines in regards to lawn mowing, condition of house, exterior colours of house etc... Apparently you have to sign an agreement if you want to live there stating that you will maintain your garden, etc. The rumour I heard was that if you don't mow your lawn when asked they will have it mowed professionally and then send you the bill. I'm still finding this story hard to believe but it may be worth looking into.

In short, I can't recommend Thornton enough, it's certainly nowhere near as flash as the Eastern Suburbs, but it's a nice place to raise a family. Maybe even check out a suburb near East Maitland called Ashtonfield. It's only 5 minutes up the road from Thornton. But, like I said, stay away from Metford. If you have any other questions about Maitland or Thornton in particular, let me know, happy to help.
Old 16-02-2007, 11:32 PM   #27
MrXR6

DJR David, Can I suggest that you look closely at the schools in your area of choice, particularly if you want to send the kids to good schools. Transport from some areas to particular schools is non existant, unless you like driving the kids to and from school.
MrXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-02-2007, 11:59 PM   #28
DJR David

Originally Posted by Damien
Yeah, or 30-40 in peak hour. I grew up in Thornton (which is basically what Somerset Park is, trust me, if you buy a house in this so-called 'Somerset Park' people still need to address your letters to Thornton), my folks still live there and they love it. It's a lovely suburb with excellent sporting facilities (three soccer fields, cricket pitch, tennis courts, skate park, indoor sports centre), a small shopping mall with a Coles (actually it is still a Bi-Lo at the moment, but with the rebranding to Coles they've started stocking Coles stuff), a great chinese restaurant, a Dominos Pizza, a Take Away Fish and Chip shop, Newsagent, cheap shop, butcher, liquor shop, all your usual commodities. There's a library next the the mall and across the road is the Thornton Public school. There is also a couple of Pre Schools around if your kids are that young. Plenty of schools in the surrounding suburbs with free school busses provided to and from nearly all of the big ones. I went through the Catholic system when I was a little snapper so I caught the bus over to the next suburb (Beresfield) every day to go to Primary School and then into Maitland for High School. Thornton has it's own train station and away from the residential section of the suburb is an Industrial Estate with various industrial buildings, most of which are open to the public. Thornton is located right at the northern mouth of the F3 Freeway which is also extremely handy.

Thornton has basically been built in three stages/sections: The Original Thornton section (which is the southern section, closest to the train station), the Parkwood Village section (basically the 1980s equivalent of Somerset Park, it's on the north west side of Thornton and backs on to Raymond Terrace Road) and now the Somerset Park section. Somerset Park is quite lovely, the developers have done a good job with what was otherwise swamp land/paddocks. There are a couple of playground areas and something they call 'The Ponds' (ie. a little wetland area pond type thing with reeds and whatnot). They're still selling land out there I believe, although I haven't seen Joey Johns on the TV for a while (he sort of became the face of Somerset Park during their massive ad campaign because he bought some land out there). Something I have heard (not sure if it's a rumour or not) is that Somerset has some kind of community policing thing going on that puts together some guidelines in regards to lawn mowing, condition of house, exterior colours of house etc... Apparently you have to sign an agreement if you want to live there stating that you will maintain your garden, etc. The rumour I heard was that if you don't mow your lawn when asked they will have it mowed professionally and then send you the bill. I'm still finding this story hard to believe but it may be worth looking into.

In short, I can't recommend Thornton enough, it's certainly nowhere near as flash as the Eastern Suburbs, but it's a nice place to raise a family. Maybe even check out a suburb near East Maitland called Ashtonfield. It's only 5 minutes up the road from Thornton. But, like I said, stay away from Metford. If you have any other questions about Maitland or Thornton in particular, let me know, happy to help.

Wow, thanks so much for the input. My kids are 18 months, and 6 weeks, so schools are high on the list of musts for the future. I do travel a little bit with work, so SAFETY is my number 1, plus I am a worrier, as anyone with young kids are. What you descrbe does sound good. I guess my only concern would be being too far from the action in newcastle. I will actually be visting the area in july, so i guess i will have to se then!!!

as for the community policing, good, bring it on. Annoying whenu make an effort with your house, and the neighbour is lazy!!!
thanks again for your thoughts!!!!!!!!!!
Old 17-02-2007, 12:07 AM   #29
eb_5litre
It'll Buff Out.

Well I have accidently left my garage door open overnight on a few occasions in Valentine, also left car unlocked and my lawn mower out on the front lawn (yes I am forgetful) and never had a drama. It really is a nice area.
For me East Maitland and Thornton are a little too close to Metford for my liking... but Ive never lived there cant really justify those fears.
My mate just bought a house at Tarro and he still has his car and posessions and his cat hasnt been raped if thats any use to you lol
Old 17-02-2007, 12:16 AM   #30
DJR David

Well I have accidently left my garage door open overnight on a few occasions in Valentine, also left car unlocked and my lawn mower out on the front lawn (yes I am forgetful) and never had a drama. It really is a nice area.
For me East Maitland and Thornton are a little too close to Metford for my liking... but Ive never lived there cant really justify those fears.
My mate just bought a house at Tarro and he still has his car and posessions and his cat hasnt been raped if thats any use to you lol
Just worried that 400,000 - 450,000 wont be enough for a large, nicer house around the valentine area.
My 2 cats will be happy about the Tarro news..... :