Old 20-05-2007, 02:12 PM   #1
Jimbo T

Default AU III Fairmont Wagon frustration !!!!!!!!

[B]G'day ,I'm new to the forum. I currently have a really nice EF Fairmont S/Wagon, looks great-white,XR8 wheels, clean as a whistle 320000 kms and still going like a bird and was looking at jumping into a BA or BF Fairmont Wagon only to find they don't make Fairmonts in Wagons anymore. The best you can do is a Futura which is pretty much an XT with electric windows in the front, alloys and different trim.

The only other way to get a Fairmont interior is to go into a TS Territory, all I'd need is 2WD but again the prices are still up there.
So, what I'm trying to find is a White AU III Fairmont Wagon with a 6 Cyl donk. I've founs an absolute ripper but it's got a 5 Ltr V8 in the thing.

Anybody know of a good starting point to find one of these animals - I've tried all the Carpoint's and CarSales and Drve.coms etc and they're pretty thin on the ground.
Any help would be appreciated,[/B]
Jimbo

Last edited by Jimbo T; 20-05-2007 at 02:18 PM. Reason: Text too small
Jimbo T is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-05-2007, 02:17 PM   #2

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

By a Futura and option it up, or buy a Territory.

The BAII / BF Futuras are just as well equiped anyway, especially if you find one with a six stacker CD, the rest is minimal (AUIII has woodgrain and climate control that plays up).

If it was me Id go the BA / BF Futura with side airbags. Get the better 6 cylinder!
2025 Mustang Darkhorse 6M Blue Ember + Appearance pack ETA April 25.
Smoke Pursuit is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-05-2007, 02:22 PM   #3
Jimbo T

Yeah I thought about that......I have a climate control in the EF and it works a reat.I'm really after that fairmont with the Dual-Zone air con system.My mate has a BA II in a sedan and it's a ripper but I need a Wagon.....Hmmmm

What would you pay for a 1st generation TS territory d'ya reckon
Jimbo
Old 20-05-2007, 02:35 PM   #4

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

I got a client who just traded one for 25, so i reckon low 30's for a second hand TS.
Old 20-05-2007, 03:34 PM   #5
Jimbo T

Thanks there LSTerritory Ghia........good food for thought. I've been spoiled, My EF is on Duel Fuel. Are the Territories hideously expensive to run? I've heard ther'es a gas conversion approved ny Ford........heard anything about that?
Jimbo
Old 20-05-2007, 03:47 PM   #6

Theres no Gas approval by Ford, therefore your warranty is worthless.

They are ok depending what you use them for, but a Futura Wagon on Egas would probarly be 30 - 40% cheaper to run.
Old 20-05-2007, 06:02 PM   #7

I wonder if the Falcon ES which comes with climate control is available in the wagon?
outback_ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-05-2007, 06:38 PM   #8

No only sedan.

Wagon has always missed out on SR / ES deal with the BA / BF.
Old 20-05-2007, 06:41 PM   #9
JBomb3000

Personally i'd get a terri but if you have your heart set on the AU mont then what's the problem with the 5L? They don't have much on the 6 in the way of power but they are a heaps smoother especially up top and they have a nice note to them. Not a hell of a lot of difference fuel wise either, my parents have a 5L LTD and it gets over 700 k's out of a tank on the highway.

Last edited by JBomb3000; 20-05-2007 at 06:50 PM.
JBomb3000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post