You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 24-01-2025, 03:39 PM   #6361

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 
Default Re: Geez! I hate that!

Yes, annoying. Although I’ve only known a couple of indie AC techs who didn’t condemn everything as a first step.

Would a portable AC unit be a temporary solution? I know they’re noisy, ugly and power hungry but wondering if the cooling afforded would help you rest when not at work. Probably kinder on your dog, too.

https://www.kennards.com.au/for-hire...ditioner-large
Citroënbender is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2025, 04:31 PM   #6362
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

Yes, annoying. Although I’ve only known a couple of indie AC techs who didn’t condemn everything as a first step.

Would a portable AC unit be a temporary solution? I know they’re noisy, ugly and power hungry but wondering if the cooling afforded would help you rest when not at work. Probably kinder on your dog, too.

https://www.kennards.com.au/for-hire...ditioner-large
I'm going to have to do something, I don't do well with heat and I have no idea how long its going to be before a solution is sorted.
2014 FG X XR8 Emperor Red
2024 Mustang GT Race Red

The Departed -
2002 T3 TS50 Blueprint
2017 Mustang GT Race Red
DFB FGXR6 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2025, 08:10 PM   #6363

Originally Posted by DFB FGXR6 View Post
I'm going to have to do something, I don't do well with heat and I have no idea how long its going to be before a solution is sorted.
Book yourself a night or two in town with comfortable accommodation, go see a movie or live theatre while the new splits are being installed.
Itsme is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2025, 09:00 PM   #6364
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

Originally Posted by Itsme View Post
Book yourself a night or two in town with comfortable accommodation, go see a movie or live theatre while the new splits are being installed.
I might go down to my parent's holiday cabin in Nagambie, freshly remodeled after the floods a couple of years ago. I'm told the A/C is like an arctic blast..................just how I like it. I'd dare say I'll be without a/c for at least two weeks.
2024 Mustang GT Race Red

The Departed -
2002 T3 TS50 Blueprint
2017 Mustang GT Race Red
Old 25-01-2025, 08:28 AM   #6365
HIPO
Al

I might go down to my parent's holiday cabin in Nagambie, freshly remodeled after the floods a couple of years ago. I'm told the A/C is like an arctic blast..................just how I like it. I'd dare say I'll be without a/c for at least two weeks.
Double happiness!
HIPO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-01-2025, 12:22 PM   #6366

Road rage from jacked up 4x4 flogs.

Coming home Thursday arvo, minding my own business, approach a 3 lane into 2 zipper merge.
Check the lh mirror to make sure myself in middle lane has space for the merge when I see this jacked up Hilux, cheap flares, big exhaust coming flying up from a good 50m behind.
Theres no room for him and big trailer between me and preceeding car, right lane is full so I cant get out of his way, onward he charges, off the road, along the dirt, determined to get that 1 more car space.

Thankfully the drivers in right lane saw it and opened a gap for me to move over, phew, crisis averted right?
Wrong.

Pull up in right lane still at the next set of lights, ol' mate in the left lane, who ended up behind me anyway because as most of us know, zipper merging traffic always ends up being slower and congested, pulls up next to me and starts abusing me for not giving him space.
I said mate, you were 50m behind me when the lanes merged, you literally had to go on the dirt to get beside me, the problem aint me, its your driving style.
F U, ya wanna go C, blah blah.
Yeah, I do wanna go...home, now **** off, and away I drive.

Ol' mates not content with that, slow to get away due to his fully loaded trailer, the howl of his big exhaust fills the air as he peddles as hard as he can, gets infront, pulls into my lane, brake check.
Yawn, saw that coming clown, already heading for the left lane you just vacated knowing the 2 lanes soon returns to 3 and both left lanes free up.
Next light, full of rage from again being behind in the slow lane Ol' mate decides to cut across 2 lanes into left turn lane, slows beside me and empties his drink bottle all down the side of my car.

That'll do it, triggered, now im gonna see what youre made of, so I hook laft and chase the flog down a side road , he pulls the slowest u tutn at a roundabout, trailer tyres screeching under protest, fair dinkum I could have got out and put one on his beak whilst he wrestled with the wheel.
Back onto the main road, I follow, he weaves until the next red which see's me laughing my head off in the middle lane whilst he finally gets his 1 car space advantage in the left.
Light goes green, Ol' mate peels hard left down a side rd again as I drive off wondering exactly when he plans to 'have a go with this C'.

Little does he realise that I took his mobile number from his business trailer and have shared it with numerous people who've now filled his diary with bogus appointments for his services, all with numbers on private of course.
Soon there will be someone to greet him at an appointment though...
Old 25-01-2025, 12:58 PM   #6367
marty351
Shenanigans..............

Now that I've downgraded from the company Hilux tray to the beater yaris, I can certainly say other cars/drivers think I'm just a little pushover, trying to run me off the road at merge and zip lanes.

It's as if I dont exist. Oh but I DO!

No Quarters given.
marty351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-01-2025, 01:01 PM   #6368

Originally Posted by marty351 View Post
Now that I've downgraded from the company Hilux tray to the beater yaris, I can certainly say other cars/drivers think I'm just a little pushover, trying to run me off the road at merge and zip lanes.

No Quarters given.
I could understand if I was in my Mazda2, but I was in the Paj Sport which holds its own against a 15yo Hilux I'd have thought.
Old 25-01-2025, 01:05 PM   #6369
kevino

Originally Posted by BENT_8 View Post

Coming home Thursday arvo, minding my own business, approach a 3 lane into 2 zipper merge.
Check the lh mirror to make sure myself in middle lane has space for the merge when I see this jacked up Hilux, cheap flares, big exhaust coming flying up from a good 50m behind.
Theres no room for him and big trailer between me and preceeding car, right lane is full so I cant get out of his way, onward he charges, off the road, along the dirt, determined to get that 1 more car space.

Thankfully the drivers in right lane saw it and opened a gap for me to move over, phew, crisis averted right?
Wrong.

Pull up in right lane still at the next set of lights, ol' mate in the left lane, who ended up behind me anyway because as most of us know, zipper merging traffic always ends up being slower and congested, pulls up next to me and starts abusing me for not giving him space.
I said mate, you were 50m behind me when the lanes merged, you literally had to go on the dirt to get beside me, the problem aint me, its your driving style.

Ol' mates not content with that, slow to get away due to his fully loaded trailer, the howl of his big exhaust fills the air as he peddles as hard as he can, gets infront, pulls into my lane, brake check.
Yawn, saw that coming clown, already heading for the left lane you just vacated knowing the 2 lanes soon returns to 3 and both left lanes free up.
Next light, full of rage from again being behind in the slow lane Ol' mate decides to cut across 2 lanes into left turn lane, slows beside me and empties his drink bottle all down the side of my car.

That'll do it, triggered, now im gonna see what youre made of, so I hook laft and chase the flog down a side road , he pulls the slowest u tutn at a roundabout, trailer tyres screeching under protest, fair dinkum I could have got out and put one on his beak whilst he wrestled with the wheel.
Back onto the main road, I follow, he weaves until the next red which see's me laughing my head off in the middle lane whilst he finally gets his 1 car space advantage in the left.
Light goes green, Ol' mate peels hard left down a side rd again as I drive off wondering exactly when he plans to 'have a go with this C'.

Little does he realise that I took his mobile number from his business trailer and have shared it with numerous people who've now filled his diary with bogus appointments for his services, all with numbers on private of course.
good story Bent.
Prob on ice
Makes him nine times stronger than you'
The hardest thing is not to try and win these situations but just drive defensively and let him get in front and get out of your way.
kevino is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-01-2025, 01:07 PM   #6370
kevino

Originally Posted by marty351 View Post

No Quarters given.
I used to have a fiesta on a 159 km freeway commute
I got out of it as people just bully light cars.
kevino is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-01-2025, 01:11 PM   #6371
Rallye Sport
RS The Faster Fords

Originally Posted by BENT_8 View Post

Wrong.

Seems to be the norm around here too. Doesn't go unnoticed though, these guys do some funny takes on it.

https://www.thebelltowertimes.com/ra...r-motorist-in/

https://www.thebelltowertimes.com/fo...-drivers-rage/

https://www.thebelltowertimes.com/au...hy-on-the-day/
FG XR50 Daily.
Rallye Sport is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-01-2025, 02:11 PM   #6372
marty351

Originally Posted by kevino View Post
I used to have a fiesta on a 159 km freeway commute
I got out of it as people just bully light cars.
https://youtu.be/II1U-85lzkQ?si=Oyc08pV0uhWUal2H

When 1 extra wheel makes all the difference...
Old 25-01-2025, 04:29 PM   #6373

I always get cut off when merging with my ranger & caravan, by trucks, buses cars 4wd's you name it they cut me off, but I get revenge most times by forwarding a copy of the dash cam footage to their relevant companies with an explanation. Now that Vic police want footage, they will get mine.
To be quite honest, these days it is a sad reflection of the quality of drivers on our roads, everyone is in a hurry and very impatient of other road users which cause these incidents.
BTW, dashcam is your best friend when these incidents happen.
Old 25-01-2025, 05:32 PM   #6374

Originally Posted by Itsme View Post
I always get cut off when merging with my ranger & caravan, by trucks, buses cars 4wd's you name it they cut me off, but I get revenge most times by forwarding a copy of the dash cam footage to their relevant companies with an explanation. Now that Vic police want footage, they will get mine.
To be quite honest, these days it is a sad reflection of the quality of drivers on our roads, everyone is in a hurry and very impatient of other road users which cause these incidents.
BTW, dashcam is your best friend when these incidents happen.

Caravans are the exception, you obviously deserved it..
Old 25-01-2025, 11:45 PM   #6375

WHY is the world going mad???

There's a lot of ____ed up __it that goes on in this world, and the lights should be shone on a lot more of it.

But nooooo, what is the world's media and the world's leaders consumed by???
"Elon Musk makes a Nazi Salute!!!!"

Now lets think about this for a minute
  • This isn't about criticising Musk for sometthing he's done (like support Trump, etc) or even alledgedly done.
  • You can't simply go around claiming that every person who waves their arm is a Nazi.
  • Musk clearly makes a gesture of cluthcing his heart and "throwing" it to the crowd. Sure it was weird, but who cares?
  • And even if he did, somehow, manage to execute a perfect Nazi Salute, so what? Are you saying that he's celebrating Naziism? Where's your proof of that?
  • Ya know all those websites and apps, that have the thumbs for indicating good or bad service... If you click thumbs down are you advocating execution of gladiators?

I'm not here defending Musk. He's a smug Billionaire that talks a lot of ___p. So criticise him for things he's actually said, or better yet find something important to report on
Old 26-01-2025, 09:32 AM   #6376

The usual anti Australia Day fanatics desecrating Anzac Memorial Statue in Melbourne, Geeze I hate that!
Don't they realise indigenous people fought for their country.
Old 26-01-2025, 12:33 PM   #6377
marty351

Australia for one and all. Happy Australia Day!

We celebrate today so they can criticize it tomorrow. And the day after that...
Old 26-01-2025, 09:08 PM   #6378
DFB FGXR6

Not looking forward to this tomorrow..................

2024 Mustang GT Race Red

The Departed -
2002 T3 TS50 Blueprint
2017 Mustang GT Race Red
Old 26-01-2025, 09:16 PM   #6379
.:4:.
Kicking back

Not looking forward to this tomorrow..................

Go to the supermarket early and buy a few bags of frozen peas. Put them on rotation in the freezer during the day and use them in the bags as cold packs as im guessing you still have the ac conundrum.
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-01-2025, 09:38 PM   #6380
DFB FGXR6

Originally Posted by .:4:. View Post
Go to the supermarket early and buy a few bags of frozen peas. Put them on rotation in the freezer during the day and use them in the bags as cold packs as im guessing you still have the ac conundrum.
Yeah, no or severely wounded A/C. Thankfully, the past week has been lovely, nothing over 30-degrees until today.
2024 Mustang GT Race Red

The Departed -
2002 T3 TS50 Blueprint
2017 Mustang GT Race Red
Old Yesterday, 07:41 PM   #6381
John 13

Originally Posted by .:4:. View Post
In my opinion a great use for frozen peas. I find them boring and tasteless in a cooked meal. They must be one of the cheapest vegetables to grow, pick and process because they appear to make up a disproportionate volume in packs of frozen vegetables.
John 13 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old Yesterday, 09:11 PM   #6382
DFB FGXR6

Earlier today, I was subjected to online bullying. The person in question is a serial troll that is appearing under at least two usernames. It's one thing to disagree with someone, that's completely normal. But in this case, the person was trying to discredit me by suggesting I'm on the payroll of a brand, carefully cutting and pasting a post I made late last year to support his claim. In effect, he was questioning my integrity and attempting to make me look corrupt, and that's not ok by me.

I know people like that get off on stuff like this, but I wasn't going to lie down and let someone taint my reputation or question my character. His behavior would have landed him a black eye and broken jaw if he behaved like that in person.

This little incident makes me angry that people can behave like this and get away with it. I also do not like how someone can make quite hurtful comments online even though they don't even know the person. Stuff like "your father failed you", "feel sorry for your parents".....................how is that acceptable behavior, online or otherwise.
2024 Mustang GT Race Red

The Departed -
2002 T3 TS50 Blueprint
2017 Mustang GT Race Red
Old Yesterday, 09:22 PM   #6383

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

I left a forum almost ten years ago because of people doing that sort of thing, it was a stain on the “moderation” that people with no skin in the game were tolerated. Didn’t say anything, just logged out and left them to rot.
Old Yesterday, 09:50 PM   #6384

Trolls are everywhere; I found FB groups to be the most brutal for online bullying & harassment, at least with FB you can permanently block them.
As for forums, if you got good admin team things should stay under control, you could also block them in forums, something I have done here at the odd times.
Old Today, 08:45 AM   #6385

Bummer, landed at Melbourne and now needing to head for $ydney via home today.

Looks like, instead of a couple of days with my feet up, I see a couple of split train journeys.

Old Today, 09:25 AM   #6386

You’ll be heading into sticky wet weather, too.
Old Today, 10:09 AM   #6387

Three fourteen-year-olds in a stolen ute, crash into and kill a bike rider. Slaps on the wrist incoming…

https://www.police.nsw.gov.au/news/n...bWwmYWxsPTE%3D
Old Today, 10:51 AM   #6388
Interceptor
HSV - I just ate one!

Three fourteen-year-olds in a stolen ute, crash into and kill a bike rider. Slaps on the wrist incoming…

https://www.police.nsw.gov.au/news/n...bWwmYWxsPTE%3D
pfft their guddamint lawyer will see they dont even get a slap on the wrist, dontcha know they all come from broken homes with no future?