Old 09-04-2008, 07:19 PM   #1
Au2falcons
Winter all year round

Default Do you need your AU hand brake adjusted properly????

Hi all,

I've just had my mechanic reset and fully adjust my handbrake from scratch on the AU.

They've done a great job, it starts to bite on the second & third click. It's not dragging or making any strange noises.

These guys are located in western Sydney, if anyone needs it done properly and wants to get it in touch with them send me a PM and i'll give you the details.

Adrian.

Recommend trading with Mechan1k, Offyaguts, EDMONTY, PhantomXR8, HOTC2R, Partie & JC
Au2falcons is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2008, 07:22 PM   #2

So they only adjusted it? Did they replace any components?

Old 09-04-2008, 07:24 PM   #3
Au2falcons
Winter all year round

None what so ever.

Recommend trading with Mechan1k, Offyaguts, EDMONTY, PhantomXR8, HOTC2R, Partie & JC
Old 09-04-2008, 07:29 PM   #4

Good stuff. Be interesting to see how long it stays like that.

Old 09-04-2008, 07:34 PM   #5
Au2falcons
Winter all year round

I've had it done by ford before......it dragged and squeeled to buggery!!!!

I took it back, they fixed it for sure! They just completely realeased it, and kept my money. Dodgy Buggers.

Old 09-04-2008, 07:41 PM   #6

Like has been said above, it will be interesting to see how long it stay's holding, let us know.
Old 09-04-2008, 07:58 PM   #7
V3RSAC3
... Fear it!

i hade mine done ages ago (probably around 10months) and it's still perfect!
Chrysler 300C Sedan
SY Territory Ghia
V3RSAC3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2008, 09:16 PM   #8
bodes-sh

i did mine myself about 12 months ago now i reckon, and it still is great, doesn't squeal, holds the car on moderate to decent hills with about 6 - 7 clicks
bodes-sh is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2008, 10:39 PM   #9
private9
www.TUFFCARPARTS.com

Alright, lame question here I know! I know it's easy to adjust, but how do you do it?

Mine never seems to last more than a few months once adjusted.
private9 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2008, 10:53 PM   #10
bodes-sh

i removed the rear wheels, then the discs, then adjusted the pads up until i couldn't get the discs back on, then backed the adjustment off just a little bit so they would go on...worked fine for me...anyway, back to the process, the i started the car, put it in gear and listened to make sure they weren't squeaking, which they weren't, then into neutral, pulled the hand brake up about 6 clicks, then back into gear, one side was rotating and the other wasn't...

then, back to park, motor off, tighten that side up a bit more, almost to the point that you can't turn it with your hands, then pulled the lever up and down a few times, start the motor, try again, then rev it a very small amount in gear to see how well it holds. haven't had a problem since, of course you could do this in a manual, but would need 2 people, one to check the wheels while the other engages the clutch.

i just repeated this until it held properly with no squeaking. just make sure first that you release the tension at the lever. i find it also helps if you don't yank it up all the way or really much more than is actually required to hold the car, but it also seems to last longer if you use it fairly regularly too as nothing really settles

i think as has been mentioned in other threads, the brake discs aren't actually round inside the disc, i have found this as sometimes the hand brake is harder than other times
bodes-sh is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-04-2008, 12:19 AM   #11

It'll start to squeal again soon enough, it is an AU after all and no matter how good the bloke working on it is he can never overcome a stupid rubbish design like the AU handbrake. I had new shoes (banksia bands) put on mine and all was well for a few weeks. I am just starting to hear it squeal again although at least it still works really well.
Old 10-04-2008, 07:22 AM   #12
chief
FTF Club Moderator

To answer the title in the question, you will need it adjusted properly to pass your rego inspection. (Or at least enough to pass the break test).

Falcon Tickford FPV (FTF) Car Club of NSW

Fords in the Park 2010

I use and recommend Stingray Car Security.
http://www.stingraycar.com.au/
chief is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-04-2008, 08:32 AM   #13
CliffM
XR6 Tragic

I'm sorry but I don't understand what the problem is. The Ford hand brake hasn't really changed for many years, the handle pulls on cables, the cables pull on levers the levers wind the calipers in and put pressure on the disks. Now the only problem I can see with this system is the difficulty in changing pads. It can be a real pain in the butt winding the calipers out to get the new pads in.

The system is simple and effective. I've owned four AU falcons and apart from the cabin lever having a lot of travel, easily adjusted out at the cables, there has never been any problems at all. As a matter of fact my current AU has a long travel, it passed Rego twice with it the way it is and works on my VERY steep driveway no problems.

I have never heard any squealing from my handbrake, some pads will squeal when the brake dust builds up, but this has nothing to do with the handbrake. It is a build up of dust behind the pads and is easily cleaned out with some water, I just wash my wheels and it goes away.

If your calipers are in good condition and pads likewise, I can't see how anyone would have problems with their Ford handbrake. It is certainly a hell of a lot better than my EAs, they broke many cables at the firewall, but east of the firewall they are almost identical to the AU and I never had problems with them either. Then I could go back to XA, XB, XY, XW they were pretty much the same too, never had problems with them either.

Sorry guys but you have me confused, there is something here that doesn't make any sense at all.... :
CliffM is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-04-2008, 08:33 AM   #14
SirHenry
Falcon Unbelievable!

Originally Posted by Russell
It'll start to squeal again soon enough, it is an AU after all and no matter how good the bloke working on it is he can never overcome a stupid rubbish design like the AU handbrake. I had new shoes (banksia bands) put on mine and all was well for a few weeks. I am just starting to hear it squeal again although at least it still works really well.

AU Handbrake adjustment hmmmm isn't that just getting new wheel chocks??? or is it replacing the rope on the brick?? I don't think it would be an AU without handbrake issues....
SirHenry is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-04-2008, 08:46 AM   #15
MRJUCY
Fordless

If they're adjusted right they work great & don't squeal at all it's just a fine balance that can be a bit hit & miss until you get it right. A decent mechanic would adjust it everytime you get the car serviced, if yours isn't or isn't getting it right tell them or get someone else.
MRJUCY is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-04-2008, 09:01 AM   #16
XRLNT-8
Monsoon SIII XR8 220

When mine start the shh shh noise I do this:
Reverse slowly then apply hand brake but keep the car moving, you will hear the pads gripping which resets them to the back... no more noise for a few weeks.

Simon
XRLNT-8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-04-2008, 09:07 AM   #17
Robe

Question

Sorry, I am bit confused. What squeals in a hand brake?

I expect to get some foot brake squeal when the wagon is moving and there is brake dust on the rotor. The hand brake only goes on when we are stopped. (I haven't done a bootleg turn for decades, not even in the work cars.)

When I do get more brake lever travel than I would prefer I fix it by adjusting the cable.

The thing that always concerns me is that no matter how effectively the hand brake is holding us, when I change into Park the wagon always seems to sag ahead a tiny bit as it settles onto the detent pin. I have experienced this in quite a few Falcons.

Any thoughts?

Bog standard silver BF Wagon, except for the Elvis doll , on gas.

Victorian Rock'n'Roll Dance Association
www.VRRDA.com.au

2015 Victorian Rock'n'Roll Dance State Championships
23 May 2015, Furlan Club, Thornbury
Robe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-04-2008, 10:07 AM   #18

Originally Posted by CliffM
I'm sorry but I don't understand what the problem is. The Ford hand brake hasn't really changed for many years, the handle pulls on cables, the cables pull on levers the levers wind the calipers in and put pressure on the disks. Now the only problem I can see with this system is the difficulty in changing pads. It can be a real pain in the butt winding the calipers out to get the new pads in.

The system is simple and effective. I've owned four AU falcons and apart from the cabin lever having a lot of travel, easily adjusted out at the cables, there has never been any problems at all. As a matter of fact my current AU has a long travel, it passed Rego twice with it the way it is and works on my VERY steep driveway no problems.

I have never heard any squealing from my handbrake, some pads will squeal when the brake dust builds up, but this has nothing to do with the handbrake. It is a build up of dust behind the pads and is easily cleaned out with some water, I just wash my wheels and it goes away.

If your calipers are in good condition and pads likewise, I can't see how anyone would have problems with their Ford handbrake. It is certainly a hell of a lot better than my EAs, they broke many cables at the firewall, but east of the firewall they are almost identical to the AU and I never had problems with them either. Then I could go back to XA, XB, XY, XW they were pretty much the same too, never had problems with them either.

Sorry guys but you have me confused, there is something here that doesn't make any sense at all.... :
If you don't know about the issue maybe it is best not to post up info that is wrong and irrelevant to an AU. The AU handbrake set up is a "revised" version of the EF setup which was a good set up that worked. The handbrake on this set up has NOTHING to do with the caliper, it operates a banksia band that is located on the inside of the rotor applying outwards pressure on it holding the vehicle in place. The problem is that with the AU they tried to save costs by using only one central clip to hold the band in place where as the EF/EL used two clips, one at either end of the band.

Make sense now.
Old 10-04-2008, 12:57 PM   #19

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

I guess I have been lucky with the ute ... mine seems to work quite well on decent inclines with load on as well. The lever has a bit of travel in it ... but still works OK ... no noise from the shoes either.
Old 10-04-2008, 01:34 PM   #20
CliffM
XR6 Tragic

If you don't know about the issue maybe it is best not to post up info that is wrong and irrelevant to an AU. The AU handbrake set up is a "revised" version of the EF setup which was a good set up that worked. The handbrake on this set up has NOTHING to do with the caliper, it operates a banksia band that is located on the inside of the rotor applying outwards pressure on it holding the vehicle in place. The problem is that with the AU they tried to save costs by using only one central clip to hold the band in place where as the EF/EL used two clips, one at either end of the band.

Make sense now.
My appoligies if I got the exact operating system wrong, that doesn't change the fact that I have never had a problem with FOUR AUs....and I can't see how a handbrake can squeel either...
Old 10-04-2008, 02:18 PM   #21
poolkeeper
Its Resonating!

My appoligies if I got the exact operating system wrong, that doesn't change the fact that I have never had a problem with FOUR AUs....and I can't see how a handbrake can squeel either...
The shoes squeel from touching the inside of the disc
poolkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-04-2008, 02:27 PM   #22
SirHenry
Falcon Unbelievable!

You've been extremely lucky.... AUs have AU issues

yes Handbrake issues are one of them that "can" pop up from time time as can, hmmm where do ya start: Sump Plugs overtightened gotta love that sump plug design, water leak in boot, brake light control switch thingy, transmissions that go boom after 150k if not serviced, Power Aerials that go boom, door actuators failing, etc etc... and yes again Handbrakes are one of these issues owing to poor design or this part.

Don't get me wrong I think its fair to say we all love our AU's but they have their own little quirks if you've been lucky to have four without the handbrake issues then I want you to buy my next lotto ticket ...
SirHenry is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-04-2008, 02:39 PM   #23

I recently had the handbrake shoes replaced on my AUII, and handbrake adjusted properly. Holds on serious hills at about 7 clicks. It used to go right up to the sky!
Old 10-04-2008, 08:15 PM   #24
Au2falcons
Winter all year round

To clarify the hand brake squeel, it's when the hand brake shoe rubs on the inside of the disc constantly. When the car is in motion rubbing causes the handbrake material to glaze over (harden). Two hard surfaces rubbing causes a squeel.

Trust me it sounds like you are driving around with no brake pads. Just the metal backing plate.

I wasn't aiming at starting a debate here. Just wanted to offer those in the fellow AU community a recommendation.

Old 11-04-2008, 01:56 AM   #25

Well all I can say is that you are either deaf or have had 4 freak AU's. It is a known problem to Ford and by touching the inside of the rear rotor it is pretty easy to see how a handbrake can squeal.
Old 11-04-2008, 04:54 PM   #26
SIKSIX
Its gone V

HI guys, what i thinkis a problem with the handbrakes is , that when the car gets diven the rear brakes heat up (normal) and when you go to park the car most people lift the hand brake till it gets firm. what i have noticed in my car compared to my brothers car is that i only lift the hand brake to a certain point not till it gets firm, and i have not had any dramas. Unlike my brothers which has been adjusted 3 times, and needs another (he always lifts it till it stops) .
Also my car i a manual and i only leave it in gear when its an steep hill.

But thats from my personal experiance.
SIKSIX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-04-2008, 04:56 PM   #27
mark180227

i need mine done also, i drove my brothers ef the other day. 3 Clicks and it was done. Is it possible to convert the handbrake system to an ef/el one?
mark180227 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-04-2008, 05:17 PM   #28
mattp

I want to put slotted rotors on the rear of my Fairmont, but I'm not game to touch it since I've got no handbrake issues at all, I don't want to give myself dramas!
mattp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-04-2008, 05:24 PM   #29
CliffM
XR6 Tragic

Well all I can say is that you are either deaf or have had 4 freak AU's. It is a known problem to Ford and by touching the inside of the rear rotor it is pretty easy to see how a handbrake can squeal.
Well I'm not deaf (although my kids might disagree with that) and I only ever pull the handbrake on with the button pressed and as far as it needs to keep the car from rolling...I am very gentle on my handbrakes due to the fact I service my own cars...and regardless of that fact, I rarely have problems with my ford brakes, its because I have driven fords since 1979 and am well aware of their drawbacks, ie there is always a week link in Ford Brakes. They are terrible, always have been always will be...
Old 11-04-2008, 05:34 PM   #30
ronwest
All Bran = Regular Member

I am very gentle on my handbrakes
I think that is the key with the AU handbrake - can't really comment on other models.

I've adjusted mine a couple of times. The first time it was perfect for a few months then my brother borrowed my car for a run down to the shop and yanked the lever through the roof.

That was the end of the good adjustment.
ronwest is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post