Old 19-08-2008, 11:36 PM   #1
AC
Saving for a Jet Car

Default Motor & Wheels Mag Supercar Claim

http://www.magshop.com.au/images/pro..._080814_xl.jpg
http://www.magshop.com.au/images/pro..._080723_xl.jpg

I know many of you have varied opinions on these two magazines.

I also have not read these properly,
I only had a few mins to flick through while at Woolies the other day.

On the cover of the current issues of these mags, they claim the new HSV they've tested to be "Australia's First Supercar" which i find to be a fairly tall claim.

And if you go off the definition from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supercar
I would say that title was claimed long ago, By the GTHO!
Although, im a little bias :P

AC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-08-2008, 11:59 PM   #2
Supercharged

Originally Posted by AC

And if you go off the definition from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supercar
I would say that title was claimed long ago, By the GTHO!
Although, im a little bias :P
When you consider the GTHO is now 37 years old and the W427 is only about 1.5 seconds faster, 1.2 litres more displacement and fuel injected I would say it is a weak compared to the XY GTHO.
The $155,000 price tag is still less than what a good genuine GTHO will fetch and they are secondhand.
Supercharged is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 12:07 AM   #3
efI_Fairmont

Agreed 100%. While I applaud Holden/HSV for taking the punt with this car, I just don't see where there is $60K of value over a normal GTS. And, the supercar claim is pretty far fetched, just look at the performance figures of the new HSV W427 to, say, the Porsche 911 Turbo or the Ferarri 599GTB. It's more comparible to an M5, and even then that's probably a stretch.

A good car, yes, the W427 is an achievement, but a supercar, no, IMO.
Old 20-08-2008, 06:20 AM   #4
V8 EF Fairmont

And look at the humble XR6T or F6 performance compared...
V8 EF Fairmont is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 11:12 AM   #5
WindsorXR
FGII XR6, Focus Sport, XR

I think that some Holden managers have special days at the Magazines to get good write-ups. I'd say that these special days are called Under the Desk days.

2011 Purple FGII XR6
2016 LZ Focus Sport

BA XR8 Build Thread (SOLD)
1966 XR Falcon Build Thread
WindsorXR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 11:45 AM   #6
sandmanls1

ironic that the latest Motor has the Walkinshaw Supercharged enhanced Clubby priced at 100k with all the fruit which will kill the W427.
sandmanls1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 11:52 AM   #7

The W427 is actually cheaper than a phase 3 GTHO was new relative to the family inancial incomes of the time.
Old 20-08-2008, 11:56 AM   #8
3vXT

I don't think any of the cars mentioned so far are supercars. Two sports cars but nothing i'd call a supercar.
3vXT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 11:57 AM   #9
Ruger
Bseries Moderator

So basically: If you want the performance of a 37 year old ford but dont want to half a million bucks the w427 is for you?

Id rather a used m5 tbh

Only those that attempt the absurd achieve the impossible.

Serviced and maintained by Mascot Auto Repairs
Ruger is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 12:01 PM   #10
irlewy86
Meep Meep

Motoring journalists must find thier degree's in the bottom of Cornflakes box.
Old 20-08-2008, 12:05 PM   #11
ST

The thing that disappoints me most about the W427 is that for the price tag the styling is not upgraded and differentiated anywhere near enough from the rest of the HSV range. If you showed someone who had a good idea of the VE range (but not of the W427 obviously ;)) and asked them what they thought, chances are they'd probably think it's the series 2/VF clubsport.

I really would have liked to have seen HSV go out and give this it's own very distinct styling inside and out. That would've made this a truly special modern performance car and much more worthy of the 'supercar' tag being thrown around.
Old 20-08-2008, 12:07 PM   #12
st33l3y
Pursuit #144

Does anyone remember the Joss supercar developed here in Australia?

http://www.joss.com.au

Probably can't make that claim yet though as its still not in production.
2003 FPV Pursuit #144
| Silhouette | 5 Speed Manual | Pacemaker Twin 2.5" System | Pacemaker 2.5" 200 cell cats | Pacemaker 1 3/4" headers | Yella Terra airbox | Herrod Oil Breathers | MGW Short Shifter | 19" Bonspeed Clutch billet wheels | Spoiler Deleted |
st33l3y is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 12:19 PM   #13

Back in the 70s, the XA GTHO Phase 4 was claimed to be a "Supercar" and didn't that end successfully :

Old 20-08-2008, 01:40 PM   #14
F6T
Has V8 envy

saw the front cover of the mag the other day. the 'supercar' claim really p*ssed me off. turn it up why don't ya.

GTX35/82r + 82lb injectors
Nizpro 4" exhaust
Plazmaman 1000hp IC/piping/BOV/plenum
Process West surge tank
Crow springs
TEIN super streets
6/4 brembos

TUNED BY BLUEPOWER RACING
F6T is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 01:47 PM   #15

So, when are we going to see Jeremy Clarkson going around their test track in it on Top Gear?
Old 20-08-2008, 02:15 PM   #16

A supercar is a Porsche Turbo, Ferrari, Lambo or Bugatti. They are all mid or rear engined and handle ridiculously well and can top well over 300kph. The W427 is just a tarted up over priced sedan with a bigger engine. Put the W427 next to any of them on a racetrack and the W427 would be a speck in the mirrors within 30 seconds.

Supersedan yes, Supercar no.
Old 20-08-2008, 02:36 PM   #17
FalconXR6

A supercar is a Porsche Turbo, Ferrari, Lambo or Bugatti. They are all mid or rear engined and handle ridiculously well and can top well over 300kph. The W427 is just a tarted up over priced sedan with a bigger engine. Put the W427 next to any of them on a racetrack and the W427 would be a speck in the mirrors within 30 seconds.

Supersedan yes, Supercar no.
Spot on mate!!!

Labeling the front of your magazine with "SUPERCAR" and a picture of that ugly W427 is likely to sell better though...

Honestly guys, if Ford tried to pull off a 7.0 litre V8 for $155k and the bloody thing looked like a down-speced GT with little differentiation I would be p i s s e d off!!!
The W427's biggest problem is it's looks vs price.
A Clubbie with an ugly bodykit can't pull this off.
A Coupe 60 with the same mechanicals, however, could.
FalconXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 03:26 PM   #18
AC
Saving for a Jet Car

Originally Posted by sgt_doofey
So, when are we going to see Jeremy Clarkson going around their test track in it on Top Gear?
Its funny you mention that, they tested the Coupe60

Old 20-08-2008, 03:28 PM   #19
Plugg3r
Bogan w/ Wheels?

In defense to this the 370kw they tested this at is at a very much derated tune.
The Comaro SS's are fetching 420kw, and at a proper tune fetch 400rwkw stock.
Old 20-08-2008, 03:37 PM   #20
Krakey
love thy ford

lol yea a real supercar that, compare it to a 4 door m3 which is not only 15k cheaper even while being taxed a million times, it beats the w427 in every single aspect of performance. 0-100 is about the same, 1/4 mile is nearly half a second quicker and round a track.....well i think we all know who would obliterate who there. For a car that has 66 more kw, 240 more nm and 3 litres over the m3, well it has to be said it sucks doesnt it. Not to mention that the bmw is engineering perfection compared to the cheap and nasty prehistoric ox cart.

Krakey
Old 20-08-2008, 03:43 PM   #21
Supercharged

The new editor of Motor is a member of LS1.com.au and by what he says is either pro-Holden or sucking up to them. I always buy Wheels and about half the time Motor as well but because he is pro Holden then I will not purchase Motor any more.
Supercharged is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 03:46 PM   #22
AC
Saving for a Jet Car

Originally Posted by Krakey
lol yea a real supercar that, compare it to a 4 door m3 which is not only 15k cheaper even while being taxed a million times...
I think they were implying an Australian built supercar.
Old 20-08-2008, 04:56 PM   #23
azaxr8

because a v8 supercar is gonna smash a bugatti? i guess our so called v8 supercars are not so SUPER DUPER in the end.

It's cause its red and not blue we say its not a supercar? take ur biased opinions out of it and we might get some have real posts.

it's very ugly thou.
azaxr8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 05:41 PM   #24
snappy

One the cover of motor it said 470kw supercar that holden is not 470kw its 375 . Its just clever placement of titles to get your attension
snappy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 06:17 PM   #25
xls3v

supercars are purpose built extreme cars
not modified family cars simple as that

hey i like it id love one but its not a supercar

it doesnt look like a fez lotus lambo etc....

wheres the areo dynamics it still looks like a commodore with a body kit
xls3v is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 06:54 PM   #26
GT 4eva

still waiting to see an australian supercar!!!
GT 4eva is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 07:00 PM   #27
snakeoil
Snake Oil

Bolwell did a pretty good job of it

2015 Mercedes C180 Coupe White/Black
2011 FG GS Ute manual #246 White/Black
2010 Chrysler Sebring limited hardtop Silver/grey
2003 UX Explorer V8 White/grey
2008 Suzuki Bandit GSF 1250 Black
2016 Victory Cross Country Tour Black
2011 Glastron GT 185 (USA made bowrider)White/Black
1988 Komatsu FG10 Forklift
FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria #975
Ullysees Member #18,554
snakeoil is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 07:15 PM   #28
Mondie
Firm member

Originally Posted by GT 4eva
still waiting to see an australian supercar!!!
Its been done but Aussies wouldnt buy it in significant enough numbers before the banks moved in

www.giocattolo.com.au

There is nothing super about the W427, bigger brakes, more cubes, beefed up suspension. Whoopee, still wouldn't mind one though
Mondie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 07:53 PM   #29
magoo66
JAFO

The W427 is actually cheaper than a phase 3 GTHO was new relative to the family inancial incomes of the time.
Err, no actually, it's the other way around.

In 1971 the average weekly pay was $110.00 and the cost of a GTHO P3 was $5,250. As of August 2008 the average weekly pay is $1,125.00 and the cost of a W427 is $155,000.00. Essentially what that means is that in 1971 the cost of a GTHO P3 was equal to 47.7 weeks pay, whereas in 2008 the a W427 is equal to 137.8 weeks pay.

If they were still making HO's today and charging 47.7 weeks pay for them they would only be $53,662.00 or $12,928.00 less than an FG GT.
magoo66 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2008, 09:18 PM   #30

Originally Posted by magoo66
Err, no actually, it's the other way around.

In 1971 the average weekly pay was $110.00 and the cost of a GTHO P3 was $5,250. As of August 2008 the average weekly pay is $1,125.00 and the cost of a W427 is $155,000.00. Essentially what that means is that in 1971 the cost of a GTHO P3 was equal to 47.7 weeks pay, whereas in 2008 the a W427 is equal to 137.8 weeks pay.

If they were still making HO's today and charging 47.7 weeks pay for them they would only be $53,662.00 or $12,928.00 less than an FG GT.
I am not sure where you get your numbers from but according to ABS the av family weekly income was $73 in 1971 (it was 1974 when 110 was reached) whereas the latest published figures (2006) show $1630 per person with the av family having 1.4 people working (which is why I said family and not personal income) and the average selling price for a P3 was a bit over $5600.

Of course I am just quoting the figures from the census docs, they could be wrong.....