ok so simply is it worth putting a VCT in or just leaving the I6 in, just woundering thats all, i heard the VCT is a good motor but thats about all i heard, also heard u can upgraded them internally to much
rexnet
stick with the I6 man. easier for cam up grades.
#3 | ||
meh.
![]() Join Date: Jul 2010
Yeah, as Damo said, Cam choice is limited with the VCT engine...
I'm not looking forward to finding a decent cam for the EF when the time comes (Now runs an AU 4L VCT engine)...
#4 | ||
You can get good cams from Crescent Motorsport for the VCT.
I played around with the VCT when using Sniper Tuning in a dyno session. It definitely has it's worth, even with a stock camshaft.
BA2 XR8 Rapid M6 Ute - Lid - Tint -18s 226.8rwkW@178kmh/537Nm@140kmh 1/9/2013 14.2@163kmh 23/10/2013 Boss349 built. Not yet run. Waiting on a shell. Retrotech thread http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...1363569&page=6 |
#5 | |||
rexnet
contemplating getting a cam from Joe @ CMS.and will be tuning it soon hopefully. however many other cam manufacture's run when you say VCT SOHC |
#6 | ||
![]() Join Date: Aug 2006
IMO upgrade the I6 or drop a V8 in.
Thats just based on my own experience with the VCT engine. |
#7 | ||
The only thing you can 'upgrade' by going to the VCT motor is to 'upgrade' how much profit the guy at the servo makes this month.
VCT: power of a 6, economy of an 8.
#8 | ||
To be fair Mr Hardware, back when the AU was new the VCT (aswell as the standard I6) made the 5.0 Holden and Ford and just about every other 6 cylinder/V6 on ther market look very lame. 175 kw SS and XR8 and 172kw XR6 and about 30odd nm short of the V8s with low 8l/100km fuel economy, can't complain myself. Pretty sure the base model V8s back then had 165kw too.
#9 | |||
![]() Join Date: Aug 2006
Even the XR6HP beat the VCT XR6 due to weight differences. The VCT made absolutely no sense, except saving a couple of dollars come rego renewal. A saving easily lost at the bowser. Mr Hardware is right on the money; AU VCT = Power of a 6, Economy of an 8. As you can tell, I dont like them much. And after owning one, its justified. XR6HP/XR8 FTW. |
#10 | ||
dunno if its worth the extra kw, that said , the vct are certainly no slouch.
#11 | |||
#12 | ||
What models did the VCT come out with? I dropped an XR6 engine into my fairmont, but would have not idea if it was an I6 or VCT... am i correct in assuming the VCT had VCT on the top and I6 had nothing (appart from being red)
#13 | ||
the vct also had a red rocker cover but it had vct intech written on it and like silver lines on top
#14 | ||
Why does the VCT use up so much more fuel if what you guys is saying is true?
I could only imagine it would be more economic due to the variable cams. I am yet to drive a I6 HP engine but im very happy with my VCT now. What sort of L/100Km do both engines run roughly? |
#15 | |||
Define definitive
BF F6 TYPHOON in NEO #718 ~ 356rwkw ![]() BF XR6 TURBO in SILHOUETTE |
#16 | |||
AU Futura 7.6l/100km 2nd Futura, 7.9l/100m Fairlane VCT, 8l/100km Fairmont wagon, 9.6-10l/100km XR6 manual ute VCT, 8.5l/100km I think the ute and wagon shapes may effect fuel consumption (?). Buggered if I know where the VCT 'power of a 6 economy of an 8' comes from. If anything the 5.0 V8s have the power of a 6 and economy of an XJS Jag. The fact both sound so good and have huge aftermarket support saves their ****. |
#17 | ||
vct equipped models also had the heavier irs , there`s probably not much in it , living in the burbs of good old melbourne, mostly stop start driving, i`ve had it as low as 350 k`s to the tank on rare occasions, the usual for me is 400/450 k`s to the tank per week , driving with economy in mind 500 +, highway without much effort 700 plus, i reckon that`s pretty reasonable, i`m happy with it anyway.
#18 | ||
Hmmmmm on average im getting just over 10L/100km usually about 11L. Mostly highway driving - O2 sensor?
#19 | |||
rexnet
#20 | ||
you guys are getting good figures, i get 350 to a tank driving like an old person :(
#21 | ||
I got over 800kms out of my ute mostly on the highway a few weeks ago. They deffinately do not like driving in the city though.
#22 | ||
a lot of the economy is in the treatment of the pedal i think, mines a pensioner special so most of the time it`s driven gently, only rare occasions the horns comes out
#23 | ||
my fairlane has the vct i6 and it goes great, a smooth ride and more than enough power if needed
in terms of econmy it is usully round the 400-450 km per tank in south east melbourne suburbs commuting day to day. out on the open road i have got it well over 650 km before i felt like topping up. |
#24 | ||
Ive had my VCT Fairmont Ghia for 2.5 years . Bought it with 128k and now has 156k on it . It gets some highway work , and mostly short trips round town .
It has averaged 13.9L/100km in this time of usage . Not bad for a car that has always had 1 child seat ( now 2 ) and is just stock as a rock . Keeps the wife happy , and has loads of room as well as all the options . If she wants a taste of speed, Soarer it is , otherwise slushbox is nice to drive .
#25 | ||
AU 1.5 Fairmont Ghia - urban 13.5l/100klm, Hwy 8l/100klm