Old 18-05-2012, 10:50 AM   #1
Keepleft

Default NSW seeks to impose its L, P1-P2 speed-limits nationwide

NSW seeks to impose its L, P1-P2 'license catgeory speed limits nation wide. Those of you outside NSW might like to advise your transport minister to NOT accept the proposal that Duncan Gay is sending to Canberra.

I have suggested through the channels we remove the L, P1 & P2 limits.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/new...-1226359373964

Speed restrictions in NSW are "crazy", Dr Williams said, referring to laws that impose special speed limits on learner and provisional drivers. "[There is] no research or empirical basis for that sort of speed restriction."
http://theage.drive.com.au/motor-new...824-13l11.html

Just a heads up.

ORDER FORD AUSTRALIA PART NO: AM6U7J19G329AA. This is a European-UN/AS3790B Spec safety-warning triangle used to give advanced warning to approaching traffic of a vehicle breakdown, or crash scene (to prevent secondary). Stow in the boot area. See your Ford dealer for this $35.95 safety item & when you buy a new Ford, please insist on it! See Page 83, part 4.4.1 http://www.transport.wa.gov.au/media...eSafePart4.pdf
Keepleft is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 11:02 AM   #2

Default Re: NSW seeks to impose its L, P1-P2 speed-limits nationwide

If anyone thinks these speed restrictions are a good idea, they should drive on the F3 when it is busy and see what happens when you come up behind an L pr P1 driver. Especially on one of the 2 lane sections.

Most L platers seam to sit on 75-80 while they have cars, trucks and buses coming up behind them at 100-120.
If the L plater doesn't feel safe doing more then 80, then keep off the Freeway, let the full licensed driver take the wheel for the highway sections.

Also when I was being instructed by my parents and driving instructor I was limited to 80. Now after a driving test in the CBD and a few stupid computer tests, I am allowed to drive 110. I have never experienced that speed with an instructor, I am now right to figure it out myself?
Old 18-05-2012, 11:06 AM   #3
turbodewd
FG Falcon fan

Having vehicles on the same roads doing very different speeds is a recipe for disaster.
turbodewd is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 11:07 AM   #4
bng

Totally agree. And with our roads being crap and only 2 lanes having someone sitting on 80 is a nightmare.
I make my gf who I'm teaching do 100. I see no point of her doing 80. This way she gets a feel for driving at higher speeds when I'm there watching over her.
bng is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 12:07 PM   #5
stalker

SA changed the laws a few months back, where learners can drive at 100, which puts them in the same vote for p plates, i hate being on p plates for this as every one expects you to drive at 110 on the freeway..
XF ute 4.0ltr injected out of an ed with girl cam and 5speed, and an xd front end for good measure
stalker is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 12:17 PM   #6

The major stupidity in this is away from the cities.

Red P driver out alone doing 90 and being constantly pressured by heavy trucks, coaches and 4WDs all sitting right up their backs and lots of near misses while being overtaken as doing more than 100 in a 100 zone is instant death.

Yep no stress or fatigue there........
Old 18-05-2012, 12:41 PM   #7

I'm all for the speed restrictions and for L & P platers on freeways they need the experiance

Old 18-05-2012, 12:48 PM   #8
XRGhia
meh.

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Contributions in the technical arena. 

80 sucks. Hell, I feel it's unsafe as hell doing 80 along a 110km/h freeway/highway...
Old 18-05-2012, 03:15 PM   #9
mltezr

yeah you have to feel sorry for L and P platers sometimes.
my parents run a driving school and every day they cop abuse from other drivers when they are doing under the speed limit
mltezr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 03:16 PM   #10
calais

They need the experience do they?

They should be experiencing what its like to drive as everyone else does! At the posted speed limits!

These L and P speed restrictions create nothing more than a rolling roadblock. Its a joke that has become 'normal' in NSW for no good purpose. It creates stress, fatigue, and pressures the flow of traffic. The sooner it is disposed of, the better.
calais is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 03:16 PM   #11
mltezr

oh and i should add by under the speed limit, i dont mean more than 10km/h lower than the speed limit, as thats the first thing i ask them
Old 18-05-2012, 03:21 PM   #12
calais

Originally Posted by mltezr
oh and i should add by under the speed limit, i dont mean more than 10km/h lower than the speed limit, as thats the first thing i ask them
Its the 50km/h in a 60km/h that really puts the strain on suburban traffic which struggles enough at 60km/h on its own. Without some oblivious parrot who seems to think that they have no impact on anyone else around them.

(Im not judging your parents, or their driving school, its just a very generalised personal observation)
calais is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 03:25 PM   #13
mltezr

Originally Posted by calais
Its the 50km/h in a 60km/h that really puts the strain on suburban traffic which struggles enough at 60km/h on its own. Without some oblivious parrot who seems to think that they have no impact on anyone else around them.

(Im not judging your parents, or their driving school, its just a very generalised personal observation)
yeah i dont really understand why 50km/h in a 60 zone. they recently changed flushcombe road from 60 to 50, and i cant really remember any bad accidents when it was 60. however since it has been 50 i know that at least one person has died in an accident on the same road
Old 18-05-2012, 03:27 PM   #14
mltezr

Originally Posted by mltezr
yeah i dont really understand why 50km/h in a 60 zone. they recently changed flushcombe road from 60 to 50, and i cant really remember any bad accidents when it was 60. however since it has been 50 i know that at least one person has died in an accident on the same road
woops misread your post.
yeah i get what your saying. my parents tell learners to go 5km/h under the speed limit, that way it reduces their chances of speeding in a test. i think its the very new drivers, who are not confident, that travel 10km/h less than the speed limit
Old 18-05-2012, 03:29 PM   #15

Originally Posted by The Yeti
I'm all for the speed restrictions and for L & P platers on freeways they need the experiance
You do realise that 99% of 100-130km/h speed limited roads are NOT multi lane freeways.

Too many city people forget that while there is a lot of population in the cities (dense is the term that really applies) the vast majory of high speed roads are single lane and the distances are great. Making laws that apply to whole country just because they might be suitable for a small area in a city is extremely myopic.

On the other hand I can see merit in making speed limits to suit the distance travelled. In that SydMel are tiny little places only a few hundred kms square there is no reason for anyone to travel above 30km/h anywhere in the urban or suburban areas.

Think of all the lives that would be saved..........

Of course if that is the max speed then only 4 cylinder hybrids are need to get anywhere.

And the reduction in carbon......

Oh the joy of rainbows and unicorns at every corner...
Old 18-05-2012, 03:36 PM   #16
EDManual

And its a whole lot more dangerous doing the actual speed limits in cities than on highways! I dont understand why they make an L plater do 80 on a 110 zone freeway, when they can do 50 through the main streets of the CBD of Sydney! Shouldnt they also drop that to what 10?! (10 in the CBD would compare with the dangerousness of 80 in a 110 zone!) Whats more dangerous!? Stupid rules!
EDManual is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 03:39 PM   #17

You do realise that 99% of 100-130km/h speed limited roads are NOT multi lane freeways.

Too many city people forget that while there is a lot of population in the cities (dense is the term that really applies) the vast majory of high speed roads are single lane and the distances are great. Making laws that apply to whole country just because they might be suitable for a small area in a city is extremely myopic.

On the other hand I can see merit in making speed limits to suit the distance travelled. In that SydMel are tiny little places only a few hundred kms square there is no reason for anyone to travel above 30km/h anywhere in the urban or suburban areas.

Of course if that is the max speed then only 4 cylinder hybrids are need to get anywhere.

Oh the joy of rainbows and unicorns at every corner...

I do realise that the majority of roads are not multi lane freeways. I also realise P1 & P2 drivers are over represented in motor vehicle accidents.

I’ve done quite a bit of driving out west and out of the citys in other states, and I don’t see an issue in limiting L & P plate drivers, if people just learnt to relax and deal with the L & P platers and overtake them when safe there wouldn’t be an issue

Old 18-05-2012, 03:43 PM   #18
joolz

Is it just me but thats a bit of a contradiction.

They need the experience but nothing over 80km/h!!
joolz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 03:50 PM   #19
AWD Chaser
Formally Kia Chaser

I do realise that the majority of roads are not multi lane freeways. I also realise P1 & P2 drivers are over represented in motor vehicle accidents.

I’ve done quite a bit of driving out west and out of the citys in other states, and I don’t see an issue in limiting L & P plate drivers, if people just learnt to relax and deal with the L & P platers and overtake them when safe there wouldn’t be an issue
You don't see an issue, but then state how to solve the issue?

HSV Clubsport R8 VY (2003)
Black, 6sp Manual, Coulson Seats, Red on black interior, Pacemaker extractors, Twin 2.5" exhaust, Custom Red 20" VE GTS Rims, Custom Red Stitching
AWD Chaser is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 04:29 PM   #20
BlueOvalPrint

Stupid, stupid law in NSW. My son is eligible for his Ls in 3 months time and as we live in the ACT I will be able to be with him while he gets experience at driving at higher speeds - and that will be AFTER I see that he has developed approriate skills and the right attitude to cope with that responsibility. Under the NSW system he would have no formal supervision from the time he can go above 80 up to 110km/h, and that increase over 3 years would apply whether he was competent or not.

Truly a policy devised by someone who sits behind a desk all day rather than a steering wheel.
BlueOvalPrint is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 04:30 PM   #21

no I dont see an issue having these restrictions

they need to get time in the saddle yea its only at 80km or whatever but its learning how a car behaves in these conditions and before people go all a car will be have differently at 110 than it does at 80 this is true but an L plater will be able to get out of trouble eaiser at 80 than they can at 110

Old 18-05-2012, 04:35 PM   #22

You do realise having L and P plated vehicles going much slower than the posted speed limits creates a huge number of hazards, not to mention stress which causes the driver to lose concentration causing an accident? Hmmm?

Then once they are on their open licence they can magically handle a car at a faster speed than they learned to drive with? What friggin pixie dust do NSW pollies snort that brings this conclusion?

If anything NSW should come in line with the rest of the country and give LEARNERS a chance to LEARN how to handle a car at the posted limit.
Old 18-05-2012, 04:40 PM   #23

there is no reason for anyone to travel above 30km/h anywhere in the urban or suburban areas.

Harold Scruby, Bob Brown and Tim Flannery thank you for this post
I drive 900kms of the Newell Hwy 5 days a week and speed differential is one of the biggest causes of drama out there.

When you have L platers at 80, P platers at 90, Trucks at 100, cars at 110 (not to mention caravans and Road Trains) with a lack of overtaking space it makes for an interesting, and often frustrating, drive.
Old 18-05-2012, 04:46 PM   #24

So this will work if everyone else changes their driving habits to compensate?

I think I can see a small problem here.
Old 18-05-2012, 04:52 PM   #25

Stupid.
chrisfpv is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 06:13 PM   #26

Ah, i posted a thread about this here in the pub not too long ago so i wont rant on too full on again.

Whoever thought up these limits need a good punch to the face with an F250 at 110kph.

I conclude its a money grab thing. There is NO LOGICAL explanation as to why these limits are in place in NSW. Some of you reckon yeah its good blah blah blah but you are not seeing the bigger picture, and probably do not wish to.

Ive done tens apon thousands of kms so far on green P's alone driven in every condition and type of road except snowy conditions. Out of my own experience, this limit is a right killer out beyond the city's. I travel the F3 almost every week, i see alot of bad overtaking manouvers and people hitting the picks because they came up to an L plater but thought they could over take on time but they couldnt as theres a P plater or truck trying to overtake also but slowly.
Great way of turning 2 - 3 lanes of flowing traffic in to 2 - 3 lanes of ********.

I remember on red P's 90 limited, had to drive 920kms return in one day, i was a zombie by 800kms, if i was not limited at 90, i would not have had any microsleeps or lapses in concentration.
That is how one person becomes a statistic. How one joins the over represented.

I know a number of L platers, some are well at home at speed but others are not. And guess what, those who ARE NOT, will not go faster than the speed they are fine with.

Old 18-05-2012, 06:21 PM   #27
stalker

Originally Posted by TheInterceptor

I know a number of L platers, some are well at home at speed but others are not. And guess what, those who ARE NOT, will not go faster than the speed they are fine with.

exactly right, i know when i first got my L's i didnt like driving 60 on some roads took me a couple of days to get used to it. same again when i got my truck licence thing is intense to drive so much going on so was sitting around 60 in an 80 till i got used to the trailor corners gears other cars etc etc.

in the end people will drive at what they are comftable at and they will all progress at their own rate. if an l plater ends up feeling happy to drive at the signed speed why shouldnt they?
XF ute 4.0ltr injected out of an ed with girl cam and 5speed, and an xd front end for good measure
Old 18-05-2012, 06:22 PM   #28

And here i was doing 70MPH in my Dads Torana when i was 16... oh to think how scarey it was!!

I cant see restricting them to lower speeds as being safe at all, when all other traffic would be well above the posted speed limit anyways? This would cause all sorts of flow problems etc...

What P platers need is more skills being taught instead of simply giving them a licence and killing themselves.

I see a majority of P platers already with dangerous habbits, which no doubt is a case of monkey see, monkey do.

Old 18-05-2012, 07:34 PM   #29

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

I see no problem in the restricitions.

Old 18-05-2012, 07:43 PM   #30
stalker

really? so you see no issue in the fact that once someone gets their full licence they can then step into a much more powerful car and drive at higher speeds... you see no issue with this?