You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 26-08-2006, 09:40 PM   #1
HOTC2R

Default Great afternoon painting brake calipers

As the title says, had a great afternoon painting the calipers anadised red / candy apple red and drum part of rotors silver on the wifes AU II. Beautiful sunny day and it was great to be out in it. Bring on summer.
Just want to give a big THANK YOU to SR_AU (Daniel) for coming around a giving me a big hand. I kept him busy all arvo.
Here is a couple of pics. After cleaning up etc if was a bit dark, so will post up before and after pics tomorrow.

HOTC2R is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-08-2006, 09:46 PM   #2
GTWHOA
Just cruisin

They came up good. Hang on a sec is that Fatty in those pics? :
Old 26-08-2006, 11:51 PM   #3
Whoosha
AU DIE HARD

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the things you do behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Writing tech articles 

beats me how you got him to work big fella ....... he likes to watch :hihi:
nice work guys lol

........Age and treachery will ALWAYS overcome youth and skill.......

CORTINA 250 2V POWER soon to be AUXR8 Windsor pwrd

.............WINDSOR WARLORD WHO CARRIES THE CLEVO MAFIA AND BROKEN BOSSES...

Originally Posted by Riksta
Quote of the weekend: "The quarter mile wasn't as long as I expected it to be".
Whoosha is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 12:33 AM   #4

LOL. I had just finished painting my calipers as well, gold in colour actually (cause red is for Brembo's! LOL). Quite an easy job, but I masked up the front of the brake pads etc. and rubbers so it looks as if the calipers were painted removed from the vehicle. I must admit they look a treat through the rims now! :Reverend:
duaned is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 01:11 AM   #5
OZFORDAU

Default Haha

Originally Posted by DVL40L
They came up good. Hang on a sec is that Fatty in those pics? :
bagaga umn so dubjk atm its my mate 18th and im so gone hahahah lol...daniel= Fatty ofg da footy shoe in N.S.W lol!

Woosha
OZFORDAU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 02:26 AM   #6
Smoked
Burnin Rubber

Simon, posting whilst under the influence is not safe. You should lose your licence for that sorta behaviour. :

And No, that aint fatty, Fatty is better looking :
***Coming Soon: Clear Side Repeaters***
Originally Posted by The-ShowStoPPa
...dont get me wrong this 3.8v6 is pretty special, it does come with the popular shake rattle and roll option and the auto compliments this with the ever popular snap crackle and pop feature
Smoked is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 03:01 AM   #7
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

lol , yeah no ofence SR_AU , but you do look a bit like fatty off the rugby footy show ..lol / was my same thought when i met you at the dyno day at G&D. You seemed like a nice bloke / very friendly etc etc , good on you for sparing some time to help others too ;) .
I also have been meaning to help a few people for a while ( you know who you are ! ) , but still had alot going on latelly with family members very ill etc etc / i havent even had much time to get on the pc latelly !. Anyways , good to see it's all still happening etc etc and i'll catch up with you all soon , take care , cheers . Rick.

:eclipsee_
XR6-VCT-2000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 06:53 AM   #8
HOTC2R

Originally Posted by Whoosha
beats me how you got him to work big fella ....... he likes to watch :hihi:
nice work guys lol
Hey...he did most of the work.. Onya Daniel
Old 27-08-2006, 07:01 AM   #9
Whoosha
AU DIE HARD

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the things you do behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Writing tech articles 

Originally Posted by OZFORDAU
bagaga umn so dubjk atm its my mate 18th and im so gone hahahah lol...daniel= Fatty ofg da footy shoe in N.S.W lol!

Woosha

That deserves 1 week of penance young Simon : :

........Age and treachery will ALWAYS overcome youth and skill.......

CORTINA 250 2V POWER soon to be AUXR8 Windsor pwrd

.............WINDSOR WARLORD WHO CARRIES THE CLEVO MAFIA AND BROKEN BOSSES...

Originally Posted by Riksta
Quote of the weekend: "The quarter mile wasn't as long as I expected it to be".
Whoosha is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 07:11 AM   #10

So thats how you paint calipers. Julie always does those arty farty things for me. Which is good, because I always come out with more paint on me, than what I'm suppossed to be painting. Looks good. Well done
Old 27-08-2006, 07:35 AM   #11
HOTC2R

So thats how you paint calipers. Julie always does those arty farty things for me. Which is good, because I always come out with more paint on me, than what I'm suppossed to be painting. Looks good. Well done
Yer Buckie, well we won't torque about the fact that gloves probably should have been worn and I'll keep scrubbing paint of my fingernails. :
Old 27-08-2006, 08:46 AM   #12

Now if i can only do mine without the wife finding out!
My mate Whoosha won't come and help me.
Pete & Daniel, if i leave my car with you 2 can you do it for me? please.
Pinkbits is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 09:57 AM   #13
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

First of all , Pete , im going to murder you for posting those photos !

Second of all , the calipers are Pink , he just wont admit to it , Red Anodised / PINK

Third , No im Not Fatty off the NRL show

Whoosha , i didnt know what i was doing when we did the springs hence the watchin and learning from the residual master of au's (YOU)

Simon , Stop sniffing paint and use it on your front grill ,

Hey Bloke , bring it around , tell her your going to church .... LOL

Time to do some Engine Bay Painting , im thinking Whole Intake system , rockercover , water resevour , the works ,

Cheers Dudes and Dudettes
Daniel

PS If you want a hand with anything , just ask , Muscles is here to help !!

AU2PWR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 04:12 PM   #14
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

Originally Posted by SR_AU
Simon , Stop sniffing paint and use it on your front grill
lmao , quote of the day ! ...

by the way Simon ,what was it you was trying to say in that message ? hehehehe .

Old 27-08-2006, 04:22 PM   #15
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

man , the sun got me on the wrong side of the face , you didnt get my good side ...

Old 27-08-2006, 04:27 PM   #16
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

lol , Daniel , don't take the comment the wrong way about looking like fatty off NRL footy show ! ;) , i actually see it as big advantage for/to you ! - your that close to a spitting image that you could goto places like the Casino etc etc and say you are him and get free drinks etc , honestly ! - take advantage of it ! ..hehehe , cheers mate .

Old 27-08-2006, 04:29 PM   #17
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

lol , nah , it would be like DeNiro in Casino , I WANT YOU TO PICK HIM UP BY THE LEGS AND USE HIS HEAD TO OPEN THE DOOR !

Signup for the Salvos Cruise !

ALL OF YOU !

Old 27-08-2006, 04:35 PM   #18
XR6-VCT-2000
Fantastic Plastic

Originally Posted by SR_AU
lol , nah , it would be like DeNiro in Casino , I WANT YOU TO PICK HIM UP BY THE LEGS AND USE HIS HEAD TO OPEN THE DOOR !

Signup for the Salvos Cruise !

ALL OF YOU !

lol , fair enough : , hmmmm now you've just mentioned that movie i think i might watch it again , good old movie , ain't watched it in a long time , cheers.

Oh by the way , the callipers came out nice , wd

Old 27-08-2006, 04:39 PM   #19
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

Cheers Mate ,

Old 27-08-2006, 04:48 PM   #20
I6corp
Was V6corp

bwahaha you look like a champ in the photo's daniel :P

Geez simon, you were so gone
Planned Engine Mods: ; Extractors; Tickford CAI; Twin Mufflers; Shift Kit; Hi-Stall; Cam; ECU Flash
Bling Mods: Tinted Windows; JVC CD/DVD HU
Planned Bling Mods: TS50 Front; High Series bonnet; Rebel Skirts and Rear Bar; SL Springs; Clear Side Indicators; Rear Spolier; Mags
I6corp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 05:30 PM   #21
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

thats my , dont worry i will clean the wheels with Oven Cleaner side lol

Old 27-08-2006, 06:08 PM   #22
HOTC2R

Here's the before and after pics that I promised.

Old 27-08-2006, 06:14 PM   #23
I6corp
Was V6corp

It does look abit pink ;)
Planned Engine Mods: ; Extractors; Tickford CAI; Twin Mufflers; Shift Kit; Hi-Stall; Cam; ECU Flash
Bling Mods: Tinted Windows; JVC CD/DVD HU
Planned Bling Mods: TS50 Front; High Series bonnet; Rebel Skirts and Rear Bar; SL Springs; Clear Side Indicators; Rear Spolier; Mags
I6corp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 06:18 PM   #24
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

'petes got pink bits , petes got pink bits !'

Lol , Cant talk , half of my handy work :(

Old 27-08-2006, 09:53 PM   #25
Smoked
Burnin Rubber

Nice pink bits mate. Now i see why Simon got so excited and began sluring his words.
***Coming Soon: Clear Side Repeaters***
Originally Posted by The-ShowStoPPa
...dont get me wrong this 3.8v6 is pretty special, it does come with the popular shake rattle and roll option and the auto compliments this with the ever popular snap crackle and pop feature
Smoked is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 09:57 PM   #26
HOTC2R

Hey, you guys better be getting your eyes checked if you think they are pink
Old 27-08-2006, 10:07 PM   #27
OZFORDAU

Talking Recovered!

Haha,

Well im recovered now!

Didn't get to bed till like 6am lol!

Was a good night thou, which is the main thing!

Im just really tierd now lol!

Cheers :hihi:

Simon (SOBER) :
OZFORDAU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 10:29 PM   #28
GlennBA

Originally Posted by HOTC2R
Here's the before and after pics that I promised.
Looks real good, nice job guys.
I did the same on mine and my dads.
Used VHT red paint.

GlennBA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 10:54 PM   #29
StorminaTcup

Originally Posted by REDXR8BLOKE
Now if i can only do mine without the wife finding out!
My mate Whoosha won't come and help me.
Pete & Daniel, if i leave my car with you 2 can you do it for me? please.

All I can say is BUSTED... Touch those callpers whilst I am not around and you know what happens... You know your hopeless with colours.
StorminaTcup is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-08-2006, 11:14 PM   #30
HOTC2R

Originally Posted by REDXR8CHICK
All I can say is BUSTED... Touch those callpers whilst I am not around and you know what happens... You know your hopeless with colours.
Now, now, we sorted this out today and after tuesday it will look, fully sick..!!