Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
I am trying to find some info on Bill Bourke
![]() Are there any websites or books on this Legend ![]() Thanks Jim |
He had a nice GT.
Im done. |
#3 | |||
Burnin Rubber
Well, either im dumb
![]() Or he aint such a legend, because i got NFI who he is.
#4 | ||
Location: Sitting on the Dunny , Contemplating "What to do Next".
Is this the "Bill Bourke you're after :-
http://www.ford.com.au/about/newsroo...20050629-2.asp Ford Australia management went one step further with the launch of the XP Falcon in 1965. In an attempt to convince local fleet buyers of the robustness and durability of the Falcon, Deputy Managing Director Bill Bourke conceived the XP Durability Run. The bold scheme involved pushing five standard Falcons to the limit around the demanding You Yangs Proving Ground driven by Australia’s top race and rally drivers. The goal was to clock 70,000 miles at an average speed per car of 70 miles per hour. Some of the five cars rolled, but after 8 ½ days driven at the limit, the five cars averaged a speed of 71.3 miles per hour. That same year, the Falcon was named Wheels Car of the Year. The following year, the bigger, more powerful XR Falcon was launched with an entirely new shape. The new model incorporated more Australian design input than previous models and featured a V8 engine for the first time. The XR Falcon also was the first model to carry the legendary GT badge. The XT Falcon saw more powerful V8s, a synchromesh gearbox, dual circuit brakes and a choice of two automatic transmissions. It was followed by the XW and XY, remarkable for the eminently collectable GTHO Phase II and III. In 1971, with the launch of the XA, the Falcon became a uniquely Australian car. There was no longer a US equivalent, the car was designed specifically for the local market. Three years earlier, local Ford designers traveled to the US and spent most of the summer of 1968 working on the Falcon clay model. The design impressed Detroit, which soon after gave the go-ahead for a design centre at Broadmeadows, Victoria. With the XB and XC came four-wheel disc brakes, four-barrel carburettors and an all-time classic Falcon, the Cobra. The XC also brought a famous 1-2 victory for Allan Moffat and Colin Bond at Bathurst in 1977. another couple http://www.uniquecarsandparts.com.au...ord_falcon.htm http://marathon68.homestead.com/ford.html I think Bill Bourke was the man who convinced Ford US to build the"Falcon GT"
XB Futura 302 , Wife ED Fairmont ,1994 Polynesian Green. Daughter No 1 KJ Laser , Daughter No 2 KH Laser Keeping FORDS in the family (Embarressment :yeees: , Son now has a "Camira" ![]() "Look Right , Look Left , Look Right , BEFORE crossing Roads"
#5 | ||
Living the dream
Im pretty sure Bill Bourke had a 429cid XW GT...
#6 | ||
Found more :-
http://groups.msn.com/falconGT/falconxwgtho.msnw http://groups.msn.com/falconGT/harryfirth.msnw http://www.angelfire.com/wy/falcongt/gthistory.html BLC , Yes mate, he sure did , I saw a few mentions of this car while doing this search . I'll have to look a bit more , I remember one racing at Amaroo Park years ago . Man , it really "thundered".
XB Futura 302 , Wife ED Fairmont ,1994 Polynesian Green. Daughter No 1 KJ Laser , Daughter No 2 KH Laser Keeping FORDS in the family (Embarressment :yeees: , Son now has a "Camira" ![]() "Look Right , Look Left , Look Right , BEFORE crossing Roads"
#7 | |||
Yes he did. Bill was a muscle car freak and he had a one-off build for his own personal transport built at Ford Australia using parts from the US parts bins. It was a magnificent looking car in black and was for sale in Unique Cars a few years ago in immaculate condition for $35k. It took a long time to sell as the add was repeated a number of times. I was interested but didn't have the money. |
#8 | ||
429 or 429? I've read that it was a 428 CJ donk. Can anyone confirm or rebuke this?
Didn't Henry Ford II fly into the XP Durability run, take a look around and then tell Bill Burke that they were all crazy! |
#9 | |||
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
Current vehicles.. Yamaha Rhino UTV, SWB 4L TJ Jeep, and boring Lhd RAV4 Bionic BF F6... UPDATE: Replaced by Shiro White 370z 7A Roadster. SOLD Workhack: FG Silhouette XR50 Turbo ute (11.63@127.44mph) SOLD 2 wheels.. 2015 103ci HD Wideglide.. SOLD SOLD THE LOT, Voted with our feet and relocated to COSTA RICA for some Pura Vida! (Ex Blood Orange #023 FPV Pursuit owner ![]() |
#10 | |||
It is hard...
The CJ engine got slotted in there, I believe a new interior, and at least new stripes put on, perhaps repainted? I haven't looked at my Aussie Muscle Car mag with it in a while. Also: did the Bill Bourke XW inspire the GTHO phase 3's shaker?
#11 | ||
normality is boring
![]() Join Date: Jun 2006
i have a copy of australian muscle car mag wit a huge write up on the 429ci cobra jet powered black gt xw built for bill bourke and it is the only 4 door ford on the planet to have the 'r' code to say it came from the factory with that motor
#12 | ||
A write up here courtsey of GT Club of SA.
http://www.gtclubsa.com.au/nationals.html Pete Geogaghen (sp) had an XY falcon at Amaroo in the early 70's & in the program was listed as a 428 , maybe one he had built up .
#13 | |||
The car went down the production line just like every other XWGT did in 1969 did, a T code 351 windsor was fitted along with auto trans, it was shipped to the states to be modified with the 428, shaker and C6 after it was manufactured.
335 S/C GT: The new KING of Australian made performance cars.. ![]() Last edited by 4Vman; 20-09-2006 at 11:58 AM. |
#14 | ||
Living the dream
Can you say 'gruntmeister'...
#15 | ||
It's Jim wanting to get back into a Ford, he knows he wants to!
#16 | ||
Built Ford Tough
No, Jim already owns a rather special Ford
![]()
#17 | |||
Norm, thanks for those web sites ![]() Jim |
#18 | |||
I dont want a truck motor in my car I had this conversation with Geoff Polites a few years ago, and he said he couldnt do it ![]() |
#19 | |||
![]() But i want to know a bit more about Bill himself, Is he still alive? Where is he now? What cars has he owned? is it just Fords? What other things has he done over the years? before and after Ford Australia? With all this talk of over priced GTs ![]() ![]() Any body know? Jim |
#20 | ||
DPC PERFORMANCE Race prep
is he as old as you JIMBO or have you a crazy fetish for the man i dont think he wears leather chaps like you
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria Ford Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car Club |
#21 | ||
I seem to remember that Bill Burke was interviewed for either the Falcon GT 30th anniversary or for the Ford Centenary TV programs. He was pretty old but still had all his faculties…
#22 | |||
#23 | ||
I remember reading an article in Unique Cars about 18 months ago.
From memory he lives in the USA with his wife.
#24 | ||
Built Ford Tough
Didn't Bill move onto head of Ford Europe after his stint as Ford Oz boss?
#25 | |||
Thanks for all your help, but i was talking to a well known Ford racing driver last night and he thinks Bill may no longer be with us :newangel: Does anybody know if he is still around? Thanks Jim |
#26 | |||
DPC PERFORMANCE Race prep
you didnt talk to me and you heckled that well known FORD driver didnt you :hihi: but least he came and said goodbye to you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria Ford Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car Club |
#27 | ||
Bill passed away in June 2005. An obituary can be seen here:
Richmond Times-Dispatch June 8, 2005 He certainly injected some excitement into Ford Australia. |
#28 | ||
*silent post*
#29 | ||
P6 LTD
I believe that he was also responsible for the Landau as well.
#30 | |||